Rhode Island · Biochemistry

Best colleges for Biochemistry in Rhode Island

Ranked by graduate earnings

Brown University, Providence College and Salve Regina University award the most Biochemistry degrees and certificates in Rhode Island: 45, 9 and 6 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 5 Rhode Island colleges offer Biochemistry and award 66 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Biochemistry program, officially titled Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology, focuses on the chemical processes that occur within living organisms. This interdisciplinary field combines principles from both chemistry and…

Institutions
5
offering CIP 26.02
States & territories
52
with a program page
Degrees / yr
66
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$43,637
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$32,048
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
75%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Biochemists and Biophysicists
$84,670
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Brown University
Providence Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$43,6374596%$14,644$12,787

Colleges awarding the most Biochemistry degrees in Rhode Island

Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Brown University
Providence Private not-for-profit
45$43,637
2Providence College
Providence Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
3Salve Regina University
Newport Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
4Rhode Island College
Providence Public
3Not reported
5Roger Williams University
Bristol Private not-for-profit
3Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Biochemists and Biophysicists (SOC 19-1021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+5.8%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~2,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$103,650
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

ScienceReading ComprehensionWritingCritical ThinkingActive ListeningActive Learning

What Biochemists and Biophysicists earn in Rhode Island

Jobs in Rhode Island
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$84,670
median $76,710
Best-paying metro
$95,240
Providence-Warwick, RI-MA

Related careers

Biological Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$105,470 avg · 250 jobs
Biological Technicians
$57,740 avg · 140 jobs
Biological Scientists, All Other
$112,370 avg · 100 jobs
Biochemists and Biophysicists
$84,670

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Biochemistry programs in Rhode Island.

Which Rhode Island colleges award the most Biochemistry degrees?+

Brown University (45 graduates a year), Providence College (9 graduates a year) and Salve Regina University (6 graduates a year) award the most Biochemistry degrees and certificates in Rhode Island, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 5 Rhode Island colleges offer Biochemistry.

Which Biochemistry program in Rhode Island has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Brown University tops the list at $43,637. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Biochemists and Biophysicists earn in Rhode Island?+

The average annual wage for Biochemists and Biophysicists in Rhode Island is $84,670 (median $76,710). Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Biochemistry program?+

The Biochemistry program, officially titled Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology, focuses on the chemical processes that occur within living organisms. This interdisciplinary field combines principles from both chemistry and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop science, reading comprehension, writing, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Biochemists and Biophysicists?+

The national job outlook is about +5.8% growth with around 2,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card