Puerto Rico · Practical Nursing

Best colleges for Practical Nursing in Puerto Rico

Ranked by graduate earnings

Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Guayama, NUC University and Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Aguadilla award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Puerto Rico: 433, 51 and 41 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 20 Puerto Rico colleges offer Practical Nursing and award 699 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…

Institutions
20
offering CIP 51.39
States & territories
56
with a program page
Degrees / yr
699
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$10,084
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
6
College Scorecard
Median net price
$8,476
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
47%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Nursing Assistants
$28,520
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1NUC University
Bayamon Private for-profit · Certificate
$10,3945154%$9,377$9,500
2Antilles School of Technical Careers
San Juan Private for-profit · Certificate Small program
$11,5081559%$5,832—
3Caribbean University - Bayamon
Bayamon Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$10,0841043%$6,392$15,250

Colleges awarding the most Practical Nursing degrees in Puerto Rico

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. * Campuses that share a federal aid ID report one College Scorecard figure.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Guayama
Guayama Private not-for-profit
433Not reported
2NUC University
Bayamon Private for-profit
51$10,394
3Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Aguadilla
Aguadilla Private not-for-profit
41Not reported
4Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Metro
San Juan Private not-for-profit
35Not reported
5Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Barranquitas
Barranquitas Private not-for-profit
30Not reported
6Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo
Arecibo Private not-for-profit
21Not reported
7Antilles School of Technical Careers
San Juan Private for-profit
15$11,508
8Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Bayamon
Bayamon Private not-for-profit
11Not reported
9Caribbean University - Bayamon
Bayamon Private not-for-profit
10$10,084*
10Caribbean University - Vega Baja
Vega Baja Private not-for-profit
9$10,084*
Show the other 10 Puerto Rico colleges offering Practical Nursing
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
CEM College - San JuanSan JuanPrivate for-profit8
Caribbean University - CarolinaCarolinaPrivate not-for-profit6
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-San GermanSan GermanPrivate not-for-profit6
Caribbean University - PoncePoncePrivate not-for-profit6
Universidad Adventista de las AntillasMayaguezPrivate not-for-profit5
Liceo de Arte-Dise-O y ComercioCaguasPrivate for-profit4
D'Mart InstituteBarranquitasPrivate for-profit3
American Educational CollegeBayamonPrivate for-profit2
Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey CampusSan JuanPrivate not-for-profit2
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-PonceMerceditaPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.3%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~204,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$39,530
typically Postsecondary nondegree award

Top skills

Active ListeningMonitoringReading ComprehensionSpeakingCritical ThinkingActive Learning

What Nursing Assistants earn in Puerto Rico

Jobs in Puerto Rico
430
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$28,520
median $22,850
Best-paying metro
$30,610
San Juan-Bayamon-Caguas, PR

Related careers

Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses
$37,640 avg · 2,990 jobs
Nursing Assistants
$28,520 avg · 430 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Practical Nursing programs in Puerto Rico.

Which Puerto Rico colleges award the most Practical Nursing degrees?+

Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Guayama (433 graduates a year), NUC University (51 graduates a year) and Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Aguadilla (41 graduates a year) award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Puerto Rico, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 20 Puerto Rico colleges offer Practical Nursing.

Which Practical Nursing program in Puerto Rico has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, NUC University tops the list at $10,394. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Nursing Assistants earn in Puerto Rico?+

The average annual wage for Nursing Assistants in Puerto Rico is $28,520 (median $22,850), across about 430 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Practical Nursing program?+

The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, monitoring, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Nursing Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +2.3% growth with around 204,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card