Best colleges for Electrical in Puerto Rico
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez, Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Bayamon and Caribbean University - Ponce award the most Electrical degrees and certificates in Puerto Rico: 77, 20 and 18 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 6 Puerto Rico colleges offer Electrical and award 178 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering program focuses on the principles and applications of electricity, electronics, and communication systems. This program is designed for students interested in the technological…
Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez Mayaguez Public · Bachelor's degree | $77,221 | 77 | 49% | — | $10,000 |
| 2 | Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus Gurabo Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $28,086 | 15 | 31% | $9,370 | $16,500 |
Colleges awarding the most Electrical degrees in Puerto Rico
Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez Mayaguez Public | 77 | $77,221 |
| 2 | Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Bayamon Bayamon Private not-for-profit | 20 | Not reported |
| 3 | Caribbean University - Ponce Ponce Private not-for-profit | 18 | Not reported |
| 4 | Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus Gurabo Private not-for-profit | 15 | $28,086 |
| 5 | Caribbean University - Bayamon Bayamon Private not-for-profit | 2 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 1 Puerto Rico colleges offering Electrical
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico | Hato Rey | Private not-for-profit | 46 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Electrical Engineers (SOC 17-2071).
Top skills
What Electrical Engineers earn in Puerto Rico
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Electrical programs in Puerto Rico.
Which Puerto Rico colleges award the most Electrical degrees?+
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez (77 graduates a year), Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Bayamon (20 graduates a year) and Caribbean University - Ponce (18 graduates a year) award the most Electrical degrees and certificates in Puerto Rico, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 6 Puerto Rico colleges offer Electrical.
Which Electrical program in Puerto Rico has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez tops the list at $77,221. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Electrical Engineers earn in Puerto Rico?+
The average annual wage for Electrical Engineers in Puerto Rico is $79,260 (median $74,250), across about 330 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Electrical program?+
The Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering program focuses on the principles and applications of electricity, electronics, and communication systems. This program is designed for students interested in the technological…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop writing, critical thinking, reading comprehension, active listening, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Electrical Engineers?+
The national job outlook is about +7.2% growth with around 11,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card