Best colleges for Design and Applied Arts in Oregon
Ranked by graduate earnings
Oregon State University, Portland State University and University of Oregon are the top bachelor's Design and Applied Arts programs in Oregon by graduate earnings. Oregon State University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $35,614, College Scorecard. Oregon State University, Portland State University and University of Oregon award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Oregon: 124, 67 and 41 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 14 Oregon colleges offer Design and Applied Arts and award 524 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Design and Applied Arts program focuses on the intersection of design and practical application, teaching students how to create aesthetically pleasing objects for everyday use. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…
Top 5 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Oregon State University Corvallis Public · Bachelor's degree | $35,614 | 124 | 70% | — | $23,419 |
| 2 | Portland State University Portland Public · Bachelor's degree | $35,304 | 67 | 53% | — | $26,995 |
| 3 | University of Oregon Eugene Public · Bachelor's degree | $28,844 | 41 | 72% | — | $29,050 |
| 4 | Western Oregon University Monmouth Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $23,583 | 2 | 47% | — | $24,625 |
| 5 | Pacific Northwest College of Art Portland Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $19,501 | 34 | 29% | $40,553 | $26,899 |
Top certificate or associate program
Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Portland Community College Portland Public · Associate degree | $26,285 | 118 | 18% | — | $17,512 |
Colleges awarding the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Oregon
Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Oregon State University Corvallis Public | 124 | $35,614 |
| 2 | Portland State University Portland Public | 67 | $35,304 |
| 3 | University of Oregon Eugene Public | 41 | $28,844 |
| 4 | George Fox University Newberg Private not-for-profit | 30 | Not reported |
| 5 | Pacific University Forest Grove Private not-for-profit | 2 | Not reported |
| 6 | Western Oregon University Monmouth Public | 2 | $23,583 |
ShowHide the other 8 Oregon colleges offering Design and Applied Arts
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Portland Community College | Portland | Public | 118 |
| Mt Hood Community College | Gresham | Public | 35 |
| Pacific Northwest College of Art | Portland | Private not-for-profit | 34 |
| Rogue Community College | Grants Pass | Public | 29 |
| Lane Community College | Eugene | Public | 17 |
| Chemeketa Community College | Salem | Public | 16 |
| Central Oregon Community College | Bend | Public | 6 |
| Linn-Benton Community College | Albany | Public | 3 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Graphic Designers (SOC 27-1024).
Top skills
What Graphic Designers earn in Oregon
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Design and Applied Arts programs in Oregon.
Which Oregon colleges award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees?+
Oregon State University (124 graduates a year), Portland State University (67 graduates a year) and University of Oregon (41 graduates a year) award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Oregon, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 14 Oregon colleges offer Design and Applied Arts.
What is the best college for Design and Applied Arts in Oregon?+
By graduate earnings, Oregon State University leads among bachelor's Design and Applied Arts programs in Oregon, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $35,614, College Scorecard. Portland State University and University of Oregon follow. By degrees awarded, Oregon State University is the largest, with 124 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Design and Applied Arts program in Oregon has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Oregon State University tops the list at $35,614. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Graphic Designers earn in Oregon?+
The average annual wage for Graphic Designers in Oregon is $85,140 (median $66,040), across about 4,140 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Design and Applied Arts program?+
The Design and Applied Arts program focuses on the intersection of design and practical application, teaching students how to create aesthetically pleasing objects for everyday use. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active listening, speaking, critical thinking, writing, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Graphic Designers?+
The national job outlook is about +2.1% growth with around 20,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card