Best colleges for Biochemistry in Oregon
Ranked by graduate earnings
Oregon State University, University of Oregon and Lewis & Clark College award the most Biochemistry degrees in Oregon: 90, 36 and 20 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 8 Oregon colleges offer Biochemistry and award 195 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Biochemistry program, officially titled Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology, focuses on the chemical processes that occur within living organisms. This interdisciplinary field combines principles from both chemistry and…
Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Oregon State University Corvallis Public · Bachelor's degree | $34,566 | 90 | 70% | — | $23,138 |
| 2 | Lewis & Clark College Portland Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $33,002 | 20 | 75% | $27,621 | — |
| 3 | Portland State University Portland Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $40,230 | 19 | 53% | — | $25,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Biochemistry degrees in Oregon
Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Oregon State University Corvallis Public | 90 | $34,566 |
| 2 | University of Oregon Eugene Public | 36 | Not reported |
| 3 | Lewis & Clark College Portland Private not-for-profit | 20 | $33,002 |
| 4 | Portland State University Portland Public | 19 | $40,230 |
| 5 | Reed College Portland Private not-for-profit | 12 | Not reported |
| 6 | George Fox University Newberg Private not-for-profit | 11 | Not reported |
| 7 | Linfield University McMinnville Private not-for-profit | 5 | Not reported |
| 8 | University of Portland Portland Private not-for-profit | 2 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Biochemists and Biophysicists (SOC 19-1021).
Top skills
What Biochemists and Biophysicists earn in Oregon
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Biochemistry programs in Oregon.
Which Oregon colleges award the most Biochemistry degrees?+
Oregon State University (90 graduates a year), University of Oregon (36 graduates a year) and Lewis & Clark College (20 graduates a year) award the most Biochemistry degrees in Oregon, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 8 Oregon colleges offer Biochemistry.
Which Biochemistry program in Oregon has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Oregon State University tops the list at $34,566. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
What is the focus of the Biochemistry program?+
The Biochemistry program, officially titled Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology, focuses on the chemical processes that occur within living organisms. This interdisciplinary field combines principles from both chemistry and…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop science, reading comprehension, writing, critical thinking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Biochemists and Biophysicists?+
The national job outlook is about +5.8% growth with around 2,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card