Ohio · Philosophy

Best colleges for Philosophy in Ohio

Ranked by graduate earnings

Franciscan University of Steubenville, Ohio State University and University of Toledo award the most Philosophy degrees in Ohio: 42, 32 and 14 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 27 Ohio colleges offer Philosophy and award 225 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Philosophy program offers a systematic study of fundamental questions related to existence, knowledge, mind, reason, language, and value. It is designed for students interested in engaging in rational and critical inquiry, reflecting…

Institutions
27
offering CIP 38.01
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
225
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$27,174
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
4
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,864
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
65%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mathematicians
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Ohio State University
Columbus Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,9713288%—$26,247
2Franciscan University of Steubenville
Steubenville Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$32,1654275%$21,122$25,000
3The College of Wooster
Wooster Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$27,174774%$22,491$25,000
4John Carroll University
University Heights Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$17,813579%$25,705$27,000

Colleges awarding the most Philosophy degrees in Ohio

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Franciscan University of Steubenville
Steubenville Private not-for-profit
42$32,165
2Ohio State University
Columbus Public
32$39,971
3University of Toledo
Toledo Public
14Not reported
4Oberlin College
Oberlin Private not-for-profit
13Not reported
5Ohio University
Athens Public
13Not reported
6Bowling Green State University
Bowling Green Public
11Not reported
7Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
8University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati Public
10Not reported
9Kenyon College
Gambier Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
10University of Dayton
Dayton Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
Show the other 17 Ohio colleges offering Philosophy
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Kent State University at KentKentPublic9
Miami University - OxfordOxfordPublic9
The College of WoosterWoosterPrivate not-for-profit7
University of Akron Main CampusAkronPublic5
John Carroll UniversityUniversity HeightsPrivate not-for-profit5
Cleveland State UniversityClevelandPublic4
Denison UniversityGranvillePrivate not-for-profit4
Ohio Northern UniversityAdaPrivate not-for-profit3
Youngstown State UniversityYoungstownPublic3
Baldwin Wallace UniversityBereaPrivate not-for-profit2
Pontifical College JosephinumColumbusPrivate not-for-profit2
Wright State UniversityDaytonPublic2
Xavier UniversityCincinnatiPrivate not-for-profit2
Ashland UniversityAshlandPrivate not-for-profit1
Ohio Dominican UniversityColumbusPrivate not-for-profit1
Wittenberg UniversitySpringfieldPrivate not-for-profit1
Antioch CollegeYellow SpringsPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mathematicians (SOC 15-2021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-0.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$121,680
typically Master's degree

Top skills

MathematicsCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive LearningScienceWriting

What Mathematicians earn in Ohio

Jobs in Ohio
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$85,940 avg · 1,600 jobs
Philosophy and Religion Teachers, Postsecondary
$81,450 avg · 780 jobs
Mathematicians
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Philosophy programs in Ohio.

Which Ohio colleges award the most Philosophy degrees?+

Franciscan University of Steubenville (42 graduates a year), Ohio State University (32 graduates a year) and University of Toledo (14 graduates a year) award the most Philosophy degrees in Ohio, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 27 Ohio colleges offer Philosophy.

Which Philosophy program in Ohio has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Ohio State University tops the list at $39,971. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

What is the focus of the Philosophy program?+

The Philosophy program offers a systematic study of fundamental questions related to existence, knowledge, mind, reason, language, and value. It is designed for students interested in engaging in rational and critical inquiry, reflecting…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop mathematics, critical thinking, reading comprehension, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mathematicians?+

The national job outlook is about -0.7% growth with around 100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card