Ohio · Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians

Best colleges for Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians in Ohio

Ranked by graduate earnings

Northwest State Community College, Warren County Career Center and Tri-Rivers Career Center award the most Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Ohio: 26, 23 and 16 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 14 Ohio colleges offer Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians and award 131 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians program focuses on training students to service and repair heavy machinery and industrial equipment. This program is ideal for individuals interested in mechanics and…

Institutions
14
offering CIP 47.03
States offered
42
with a program page
Degrees / yr
131
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$44,597
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
65%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines
$66,160
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Warren County Career Center
Lebanon Public · Certificate
$70,3052377%——
2Tri-Rivers Career Center
Marion Public · Certificate Small program
$44,5971671%——
3Career and Technology Education Centers of Licking County
Newark Public · Certificate Small program
$39,6901479%—$8,898

Colleges awarding the most Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians degrees in Ohio

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Northwest State Community College
Archbold Public
26Not reported
2Warren County Career Center
Lebanon Public
23$70,305
3Tri-Rivers Career Center
Marion Public
16$44,597
4Career and Technology Education Centers of Licking County
Newark Public
14$39,690
5Sinclair Community College
Dayton Public
13Not reported
6Washington County Career Center - Adult Technical Training
Marietta Public
9Not reported
7Buckeye Hills Career Center
Rio Grande Public
7Not reported
8Scioto County Career Technical Center
Lucasville Public
6Not reported
9Buckeye Joint Vocational School
New Philadelphia Public
4Not reported
10Apollo Career Center
Lima Public
3Not reported
Show the other 4 Ohio colleges offering Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Cuyahoga Community College DistrictClevelandPublic3
Owens Community CollegePerrysburgPublic3
Upper Valley Career CenterPiquaPublic3
Collins Career Technical CenterChesapeakePublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines (SOC 49-3042).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+5.8%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~16,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$63,980
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionWritingSpeakingMonitoringActive Listening

What Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines earn in Ohio

Jobs in Ohio
6,270
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$66,160
median $63,200
Best-paying metro
$69,990
Toledo, OH

Related careers

Industrial Machinery Mechanics
$67,900 avg · 21,950 jobs
Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines
$66,160 avg · 6,270 jobs
Maintenance Workers, Machinery
$60,060 avg · 2,330 jobs
Millwrights
$71,780 avg · 1,930 jobs
Control and Valve Installers and Repairers, Except Mechanical Door
$73,920 avg · 1,230 jobs
Elevator and Escalator Installers and Repairers
$95,890 avg · 690 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians programs in Ohio.

Which Ohio colleges award the most Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians degrees?+

Northwest State Community College (26 graduates a year), Warren County Career Center (23 graduates a year) and Tri-Rivers Career Center (16 graduates a year) award the most Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Ohio, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 14 Ohio colleges offer Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians.

Which Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians program in Ohio has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Warren County Career Center tops the list at $70,305. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines earn in Ohio?+

The average annual wage for Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines in Ohio is $66,160 (median $63,200), across about 6,270 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians program?+

The Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians program focuses on training students to service and repair heavy machinery and industrial equipment. This program is ideal for individuals interested in mechanics and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, writing, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines?+

The national job outlook is about +5.8% growth with around 16,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians in other statesMissouriOklahomaMinnesotaMississippiWyomingIllinoisKentuckyMichigan

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card