Best colleges for Engineering in Ohio
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of Akron Main Campus, Ohio State University and Miami University - Oxford award the most Engineering degrees and certificates in Ohio: 181, 38 and 9 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 8 Ohio colleges offer Engineering and award 246 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Engineering program focuses on applying scientific theories, mathematical methods, and empirical evidence to develop technological solutions. Students in this field will learn to balance technical requirements with safety, human…
Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ohio State University Columbus Public · Bachelor's degree | $78,734 | 38 | 88% | — | $22,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Engineering degrees in Ohio
Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Akron Main Campus Akron Public | 181 | Not reported |
| 2 | Ohio State University Columbus Public | 38 | $78,734 |
| 3 | Miami University - Oxford Oxford Public | 9 | Not reported |
| 4 | Ohio University Athens Public | 7 | Not reported |
| 5 | Oberlin College Oberlin Private not-for-profit | 6 | Not reported |
| 6 | Ohio Northern University Ada Private not-for-profit | 2 | Not reported |
| 7 | Wright State University Dayton Public | 2 | Not reported |
| 8 | University of Cincinnati Cincinnati Public | 1 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Health and Safety Engineers, Except Mining Safety Engineers and Inspectors (SOC 17-2111).
Top skills
What Health and Safety Engineers, Except Mining Safety Engineers and Inspectors earn in Ohio
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Engineering programs in Ohio.
Which Ohio colleges award the most Engineering degrees?+
University of Akron Main Campus (181 graduates a year), Ohio State University (38 graduates a year) and Miami University - Oxford (9 graduates a year) award the most Engineering degrees and certificates in Ohio, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 8 Ohio colleges offer Engineering.
Which Engineering program in Ohio has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Ohio State University tops the list at $78,734. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Health and Safety Engineers, Except Mining Safety Engineers and Inspectors earn in Ohio?+
The average annual wage for Health and Safety Engineers, Except Mining Safety Engineers and Inspectors in Ohio is $128,630 (median $129,560), across about 650 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Engineering program?+
The Engineering program focuses on applying scientific theories, mathematical methods, and empirical evidence to develop technological solutions. Students in this field will learn to balance technical requirements with safety, human…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, active listening, writing, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Health and Safety Engineers, Except Mining Safety Engineers and Inspectors?+
The national job outlook is about +4.4% growth with around 1,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card