Best colleges for Computer Science in Ohio
Ranked by graduate earnings
Case Western Reserve University, Cedarville University and University of Dayton are the top bachelor's Computer Science programs in Ohio by graduate earnings. Case Western Reserve University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $95,688, College Scorecard. University of Dayton, Kent State University at Kent and Case Western Reserve University award the most Computer Science degrees in Ohio: 315, 304 and 250 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 37 Ohio colleges offer Computer Science and award 1,803 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Computer Science program focuses on the study of computation, information, and automation. This field encompasses both theoretical and applied disciplines, making it suitable for individuals interested in technology and…
Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Case Western Reserve University Cleveland Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $95,688 | 250 | 87% | $27,976 | $25,391 |
| 2 | Cedarville University Cedarville Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $76,615 | 37 | 73% | $22,701 | $27,000 |
| 3 | University of Dayton Dayton Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $74,052 | 315 | 80% | $28,560 | $25,000 |
| 4 | Ohio University Athens Public · Bachelor's degree | $73,932 | 66 | 65% | — | $21,500 |
| 5 | Xavier University Cincinnati Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $73,546 | 30 | 69% | $31,119 | $27,000 |
| 6 | Cleveland State University Cleveland Public · Bachelor's degree | $68,280 | 216 | 51% | — | $23,365 |
| 7 | Youngstown State University Youngstown Public · Bachelor's degree | $66,674 | 42 | 50% | — | $21,000 |
| 8 | John Carroll University University Heights Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $65,716 | 20 | 79% | $25,705 | $23,250 |
| 9 | Kent State University at Kent Kent Public · Bachelor's degree | $60,051 | 304 | 64% | — | $25,000 |
| 10 | Franklin University Columbus Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Online | $76,264 | 55 | 11% | $22,280 | $47,834 |
Colleges awarding the most Computer Science degrees in Ohio
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Dayton Dayton Private not-for-profit | 315 | $74,052 |
| 2 | Kent State University at Kent Kent Public | 304 | $60,051 |
| 3 | Case Western Reserve University Cleveland Private not-for-profit | 250 | $95,688 |
| 4 | Cleveland State University Cleveland Public | 216 | $68,280 |
| 5 | Miami University - Oxford Oxford Public | 203 | Not reported |
| 6 | Ohio University Athens Public | 66 | $73,932 |
| 7 | Youngstown State University Youngstown Public | 42 | $66,674 |
| 8 | The College of Wooster Wooster Private not-for-profit | 40 | Not reported |
| 9 | Cedarville University Cedarville Private not-for-profit | 37 | $76,615 |
| 10 | Denison University Granville Private not-for-profit | 35 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 27 Ohio colleges offering Computer Science
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franklin University (Online) | Columbus | Private not-for-profit | 55 |
| Xavier University | Cincinnati | Private not-for-profit | 30 |
| John Carroll University | University Heights | Private not-for-profit | 20 |
| Baldwin Wallace University | Berea | Private not-for-profit | 19 |
| Air Force Institute of Technology - Graduate School of Engineering & Management (Graduate only) | Wright-Patterson AFB | Public | 18 |
| University of Akron Main Campus | Akron | Public | 17 |
| Ohio Northern University | Ada | Private not-for-profit | 16 |
| Mount St. Joseph University | Cincinnati | Private not-for-profit | 12 |
| Wittenberg University | Springfield | Private not-for-profit | 12 |
| Capital University | Columbus | Private not-for-profit | 11 |
| Walsh University | North Canton | Private not-for-profit | 10 |
| The University of Findlay | Findlay | Private not-for-profit | 9 |
| Ohio Dominican University | Columbus | Private not-for-profit | 9 |
| Central State University | Wilberforce | Public | 8 |
| Franciscan University of Steubenville | Steubenville | Private not-for-profit | 8 |
| Ashland University | Ashland | Private not-for-profit | 7 |
| Ohio Wesleyan University | Delaware | Private not-for-profit | 7 |
| Marietta College | Marietta | Private not-for-profit | 6 |
| Heidelberg University | Tiffin | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
| Malone University | Canton | Private not-for-profit | 4 |
| University of Rio Grande | Rio Grande | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| University of Toledo | Toledo | Public | 3 |
| University of Cincinnati | Cincinnati | Public | 2 |
| Hiram College | Hiram | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
| Lakeland Community College | Kirtland | Public | 1 |
| Lourdes University | Sylvania | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
| Wilberforce University | Wilberforce | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Computer and Information Research Scientists (SOC 15-1221).
Top skills
What Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Ohio
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Computer Science programs in Ohio.
Which Ohio colleges award the most Computer Science degrees?+
University of Dayton (315 graduates a year), Kent State University at Kent (304 graduates a year) and Case Western Reserve University (250 graduates a year) award the most Computer Science degrees in Ohio, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 37 Ohio colleges offer Computer Science.
What is the best college for Computer Science in Ohio?+
By graduate earnings, Case Western Reserve University leads among bachelor's Computer Science programs in Ohio, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $95,688, College Scorecard. Cedarville University and University of Dayton follow. By degrees awarded, University of Dayton is the largest, with 315 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Computer Science program in Ohio has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Case Western Reserve University tops the list at $95,688. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Ohio?+
The average annual wage for Computer and Information Research Scientists in Ohio is $126,370 (median $135,510), across about 280 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Computer Science program?+
The Computer Science program focuses on the study of computation, information, and automation. This field encompasses both theoretical and applied disciplines, making it suitable for individuals interested in technology and…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Computer and Information Research Scientists?+
The national job outlook is about +19.7% growth with around 3,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card