North Dakota · Philosophy

Best colleges for Philosophy in North Dakota

Ranked by graduates a year

University of Mary, University of North Dakota and North Dakota State University award the most Philosophy degrees and certificates in North Dakota: 9, 2 and 2 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 3 North Dakota colleges offer Philosophy and award 13 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Philosophy program offers a systematic study of fundamental questions related to existence, knowledge, mind, reason, language, and value. It is designed for students interested in engaging in rational and critical inquiry, reflecting…

Institutions
3
offering CIP 38.01
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
13
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$16,753
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
64%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mathematicians
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

3 institutions offering Philosophy in North Dakota

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Mary
Bismarck Private not-for-profit
—967%$16,753—
2University of North Dakota
Grand Forks Public
—260%——
3North Dakota State University
Fargo Public
—264%——

Colleges awarding the most Philosophy degrees in North Dakota

Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Mary
Bismarck Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
2University of North Dakota
Grand Forks Public
2Not reported
3North Dakota State University
Fargo Public
2Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mathematicians (SOC 15-2021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-0.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$121,680
typically Master's degree

Top skills

MathematicsCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive LearningScienceWriting

What Mathematicians earn in North Dakota

Jobs in North Dakota
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$83,500 avg · 120 jobs
Philosophy and Religion Teachers, Postsecondary
$84,230
Mathematicians
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Philosophy programs in North Dakota.

Which North Dakota colleges award the most Philosophy degrees?+

University of Mary (9 graduates a year), University of North Dakota (2 graduates a year) and North Dakota State University (2 graduates a year) award the most Philosophy degrees and certificates in North Dakota, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 3 North Dakota colleges offer Philosophy.

What is the focus of the Philosophy program?+

The Philosophy program offers a systematic study of fundamental questions related to existence, knowledge, mind, reason, language, and value. It is designed for students interested in engaging in rational and critical inquiry, reflecting…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop mathematics, critical thinking, reading comprehension, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mathematicians?+

The national job outlook is about -0.7% growth with around 100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card