North Carolina · Visual and Performing Arts

Best colleges for Visual and Performing Arts in North Carolina

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of North Carolina Asheville, Warren Wilson College and Elizabeth City State University award the most Visual and Performing Arts degrees and certificates in North Carolina: 33, 18 and 8 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 7 North Carolina colleges offer Visual and Performing Arts and award 72 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Visual and Performing Arts program offers a comprehensive exploration of artistic expression through various mediums. This program is designed for students who are passionate about creativity and wish to develop their skills in both…

Institutions
7
offering CIP 50.01
States offered
47
with a program page
Degrees / yr
72
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$23,023
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,108
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
47%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Graphic Designers
$63,250
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of North Carolina Asheville
Asheville Public · Bachelor's degree
$23,0233354%—$23,250

Colleges awarding the most Visual and Performing Arts degrees in North Carolina

Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of North Carolina Asheville
Asheville Public
33$23,023
2Warren Wilson College
Swannanoa Private not-for-profit
18Not reported
3Elizabeth City State University
Elizabeth City Public
8Not reported
4North Carolina Central University
Durham Public
8Not reported
5Salem College
Winston-Salem Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
6Lees-McRae College
Banner Elk Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
7William Peace University
Raleigh Private not-for-profit
1Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Graphic Designers (SOC 27-1024).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~20,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$61,300
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingCritical ThinkingWritingActive LearningReading Comprehension

What Graphic Designers earn in North Carolina

Jobs in North Carolina
5,660
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$63,250
median $58,450
Best-paying metro
$67,480
Durham-Chapel Hill, NC

Related careers

Graphic Designers
$63,250 avg · 5,660 jobs
Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary
$74,820 avg · 2,880 jobs
Photographers
$47,540 avg · 2,130 jobs
Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators
— avg · 390 jobs
Special Effects Artists and Animators
$86,020 avg · 370 jobs
Artists and Related Workers, All Other
$88,930 avg · 80 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Visual and Performing Arts programs in North Carolina.

Which North Carolina colleges award the most Visual and Performing Arts degrees?+

University of North Carolina Asheville (33 graduates a year), Warren Wilson College (18 graduates a year) and Elizabeth City State University (8 graduates a year) award the most Visual and Performing Arts degrees and certificates in North Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 7 North Carolina colleges offer Visual and Performing Arts.

Which Visual and Performing Arts program in North Carolina has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of North Carolina Asheville tops the list at $23,023. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Graphic Designers earn in North Carolina?+

The average annual wage for Graphic Designers in North Carolina is $63,250 (median $58,450), across about 5,660 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Visual and Performing Arts program?+

The Visual and Performing Arts program offers a comprehensive exploration of artistic expression through various mediums. This program is designed for students who are passionate about creativity and wish to develop their skills in both…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, critical thinking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Graphic Designers?+

The national job outlook is about +2.1% growth with around 20,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Visual and Performing Arts in other statesWisconsinVirginiaColoradoVermontMissouriFloridaTexasCalifornia

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card