North Carolina · Public Administration

Best colleges for Public Administration in North Carolina

Ranked by graduate earnings

Western Carolina University, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and North Carolina Central University award the most Public Administration degrees and certificates in North Carolina: 134, 61 and 60 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 16 North Carolina colleges offer Public Administration and award 495 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Public Administration program focuses on the principles and practices involved in managing public sector organizations and services. It is designed for individuals interested in pursuing careers that contribute to the effective…

Institutions
16
offering CIP 44.04
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
495
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$56,445
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,863
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
59%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · General and Operations Managers
$128,520
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Western Carolina University
Cullowhee Public · Bachelor's degree
$56,44513460%—$18,375

Colleges awarding the most Public Administration degrees in North Carolina

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Western Carolina University
Cullowhee Public
134$56,445
2University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Public
61Not reported
3North Carolina Central University
Durham Public
60Not reported
4North Carolina State University at Raleigh
Raleigh Public
48Not reported
5Gardner-Webb University
Boiling Springs Private not-for-profit
37Not reported
6University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Charlotte Public
30Not reported
7University of North Carolina Wilmington
Wilmington Public
28Not reported
8University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Greensboro Public
27Not reported
9East Carolina University
Greenville Public
19Not reported
10Appalachian State University
Boone Public
17Not reported
Show the other 6 North Carolina colleges offering Public Administration
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Strayer University - North Carolina (Online)GreensboroPrivate for-profit13
University of North Carolina at PembrokePembrokePublic12
Montreat CollegeMontreatPrivate not-for-profit4
Mars Hill UniversityMars HillPrivate not-for-profit2
Saint Augustine's UniversityRaleighPrivate not-for-profit2
Elon UniversityElonPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: General and Operations Managers (SOC 11-1021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.4%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~308,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$102,950
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingMonitoringCritical ThinkingActive Learning

What General and Operations Managers earn in North Carolina

Jobs in North Carolina
63,740
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$128,520
median $101,950
Best-paying metro
$141,930
Raleigh-Cary, NC

Related careers

General and Operations Managers
$128,520 avg · 63,740 jobs
Construction Managers
$119,310 avg · 16,310 jobs
Transportation, Storage, and Distribution Managers
$120,690 avg · 6,650 jobs
Social and Community Service Managers
$85,690 avg · 4,970 jobs
Chief Executives
$347,690 avg · 1,930 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Public Administration programs in North Carolina.

Which North Carolina colleges award the most Public Administration degrees?+

Western Carolina University (134 graduates a year), University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (61 graduates a year) and North Carolina Central University (60 graduates a year) award the most Public Administration degrees and certificates in North Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 16 North Carolina colleges offer Public Administration.

Which Public Administration program in North Carolina has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Western Carolina University tops the list at $56,445. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do General and Operations Managers earn in North Carolina?+

The average annual wage for General and Operations Managers in North Carolina is $128,520 (median $101,950), across about 63,740 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Public Administration program?+

The Public Administration program focuses on the principles and practices involved in managing public sector organizations and services. It is designed for individuals interested in pursuing careers that contribute to the effective…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, monitoring, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for General and Operations Managers?+

The national job outlook is about +4.4% growth with around 308,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card