North Carolina · Library Science and Administration

Best colleges for Library Science and Administration in North Carolina

Ranked by graduates a year

University of North Carolina at Greensboro, East Carolina University and North Carolina Central University award the most Library Science and Administration degrees and certificates in North Carolina: 142, 87 and 78 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 5 North Carolina colleges offer Library Science and Administration and award 411 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Library Science and Administration program focuses on the study of the creation, organization, management, and use of recorded information. It prepares students for various professional roles in librarianship, information management,…

Related programs you can study
Institutions
5
offering CIP 25.01
States offered
38
with a program page
Degrees / yr
411
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
65%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Librarians and Media Collections Specialists
$64,140
BLS OEWS May 2025

5 institutions offering Library Science and Administration in North Carolina

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Greensboro Public
—14256%——
2East Carolina University
Greenville Public
—8763%——
3North Carolina Central University
Durham Public
—7842%——
4University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Public
—7091%——
5Appalachian State University
Boone Public
—3475%——

Colleges awarding the most Library Science and Administration degrees in North Carolina

Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Greensboro Public
142Not reported
2East Carolina University
Greenville Public
87Not reported
3North Carolina Central University
Durham Public
78Not reported
4University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Public
70Not reported
5Appalachian State University
Boone Public
34Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Librarians and Media Collections Specialists (SOC 25-4022).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~13,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$64,320
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingWritingMonitoring

What Librarians and Media Collections Specialists earn in North Carolina

Jobs in North Carolina
4,010
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$64,140
median $61,420
Best-paying metro
$76,910
Durham-Chapel Hill, NC

Related careers

Librarians and Media Collections Specialists
$64,140 avg · 4,010 jobs
Library Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$81,580 avg · 250 jobs
Archivists
$58,890 avg · 130 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Library Science and Administration programs in North Carolina.

Which North Carolina colleges award the most Library Science and Administration degrees?+

University of North Carolina at Greensboro (142 graduates a year), East Carolina University (87 graduates a year) and North Carolina Central University (78 graduates a year) award the most Library Science and Administration degrees and certificates in North Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 5 North Carolina colleges offer Library Science and Administration.

How much do Librarians and Media Collections Specialists earn in North Carolina?+

The average annual wage for Librarians and Media Collections Specialists in North Carolina is $64,140 (median $61,420), across about 4,010 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Library Science and Administration program?+

The Library Science and Administration program focuses on the study of the creation, organization, management, and use of recorded information. It prepares students for various professional roles in librarianship, information management,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Librarians and Media Collections Specialists?+

The national job outlook is about +1.7% growth with around 13,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Related programs in North CarolinaLibrary and Archives AssistingLibrary Science

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card