North Carolina · Education

Best colleges for Education in North Carolina

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of North Carolina Wilmington, North Carolina State University at Raleigh and Campbell University award the most Education degrees and certificates in North Carolina: 50, 41 and 25 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 20 North Carolina colleges offer Education and award 247 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Education program, specifically in General Education, focuses on the transmission of knowledge and skills while fostering character development. This program is designed for individuals who are passionate about teaching and learning in…

Institutions
20
offering CIP 13.01
States & territories
56
with a program page
Degrees / yr
247
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$30,966
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,351
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
53%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Education Teachers, Postsecondary
$73,220
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Salem College
Winston-Salem Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$36,646357%$19,415$26,407
2Belmont Abbey College
Belmont Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$30,966447%$22,639$27,000

Colleges awarding the most Education degrees in North Carolina

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of North Carolina Wilmington
Wilmington Public
50Not reported
2North Carolina State University at Raleigh
Raleigh Public
41Not reported
3Campbell University
Buies Creek Private not-for-profit
25Not reported
4Western Carolina University
Cullowhee Public
23Not reported
5Wingate University
Wingate Private not-for-profit
22Not reported
6University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Public
20Not reported
7Davidson College
Davidson Private not-for-profit
16Not reported
8Methodist University
Fayetteville Private not-for-profit
7Not reported
9Central Piedmont Community College
Charlotte Public
6Not reported
10Pfeiffer University
Misenheimer Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
Show the other 10 North Carolina colleges offering Education
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
William Peace UniversityRaleighPrivate not-for-profit5
Carolina UniversityWinston-SalemPrivate not-for-profit5
Belmont Abbey CollegeBelmontPrivate not-for-profit4
Guilford CollegeGreensboroPrivate not-for-profit4
Western Piedmont Community CollegeMorgantonPublic4
Salem CollegeWinston-SalemPrivate not-for-profit3
Blue Ridge Community CollegeFlat RockPublic2
Forsyth Technical Community CollegeWinston-SalemPublic2
Davidson-Davie Community CollegeThomasvillePublic1
University of Mount OliveMount OlivePrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Education Teachers, Postsecondary (SOC 25-1081).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~5,600
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$72,090
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

SpeakingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningLearning StrategiesActive LearningWriting

What Education Teachers, Postsecondary earn in North Carolina

Jobs in North Carolina
2,130
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$73,220
median $70,050
Best-paying metro
$94,630
Wilmington, NC

Related careers

Education Teachers, Postsecondary
$73,220 avg · 2,130 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Education programs in North Carolina.

Which North Carolina colleges award the most Education degrees?+

University of North Carolina Wilmington (50 graduates a year), North Carolina State University at Raleigh (41 graduates a year) and Campbell University (25 graduates a year) award the most Education degrees and certificates in North Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 20 North Carolina colleges offer Education.

How much do Education Teachers, Postsecondary earn in North Carolina?+

The average annual wage for Education Teachers, Postsecondary in North Carolina is $73,220 (median $70,050), across about 2,130 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Education program?+

The Education program, specifically in General Education, focuses on the transmission of knowledge and skills while fostering character development. This program is designed for individuals who are passionate about teaching and learning in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, reading comprehension, active listening, learning strategies, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Education Teachers, Postsecondary?+

The national job outlook is about +2.1% growth with around 5,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card