Best colleges for Clinical in North Carolina
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of Mount Olive, Gardner-Webb University and Appalachian State University award the most Clinical degrees and certificates in North Carolina: 57, 44 and 26 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 11 North Carolina colleges offer Clinical and award 217 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology program focuses on understanding and addressing psychological, emotional, and behavioral issues. It is designed for students interested in pursuing careers in various areas of psychology,…
Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gardner-Webb University Boiling Springs Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $34,491 | 44 | 55% | $22,863 | $29,166 |
Colleges awarding the most Clinical degrees in North Carolina
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Mount Olive Mount Olive Private not-for-profit | 57 | Not reported |
| 2 | Gardner-Webb University Boiling Springs Private not-for-profit | 44 | $34,491 |
| 3 | Appalachian State University Boone Public | 26 | Not reported |
| 4 | East Carolina University Greenville Public | 19 | Not reported |
| 5 | Meredith College Raleigh Private not-for-profit | 16 | Not reported |
| 6 | University of North Carolina at Charlotte Charlotte Public | 15 | Not reported |
| 7 | Western Carolina University Cullowhee Public | 13 | Not reported |
| 8 | North Carolina A & T State University Greensboro Public | 11 | Not reported |
| 9 | Campbell University Buies Creek Private not-for-profit | 9 | Not reported |
| 10 | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Chapel Hill Public | 5 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 1 North Carolina colleges offering Clinical
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mid-Atlantic Christian University | Elizabeth City | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Clinical and Counseling Psychologists (SOC 19-3033).
Top skills
What Clinical and Counseling Psychologists earn in North Carolina
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Clinical programs in North Carolina.
Which North Carolina colleges award the most Clinical degrees?+
University of Mount Olive (57 graduates a year), Gardner-Webb University (44 graduates a year) and Appalachian State University (26 graduates a year) award the most Clinical degrees and certificates in North Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 11 North Carolina colleges offer Clinical.
Which Clinical program in North Carolina has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Gardner-Webb University tops the list at $34,491. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Clinical and Counseling Psychologists earn in North Carolina?+
The average annual wage for Clinical and Counseling Psychologists in North Carolina is $106,270 (median $92,130), across about 2,770 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Clinical program?+
The Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology program focuses on understanding and addressing psychological, emotional, and behavioral issues. It is designed for students interested in pursuing careers in various areas of psychology,…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, active listening, writing, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Clinical and Counseling Psychologists?+
The national job outlook is about +11.2% growth with around 4,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card