North Carolina · Biomedical/Medical Engineering

Best colleges for Biomedical/Medical Engineering in North Carolina

Ranked by graduate earnings

North Carolina State University at Raleigh, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Duke University are the top bachelor's Biomedical/Medical Engineering programs in North Carolina by graduate earnings. North Carolina State University at Raleigh leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $74,016, College Scorecard. Duke University, North Carolina State University at Raleigh and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill award the most Biomedical/Medical Engineering degrees in North Carolina: 264, 202 and 199 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 6 North Carolina colleges offer Biomedical/Medical Engineering and award 732 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Biomedical/Medical Engineering program focuses on applying engineering principles and design concepts to the fields of medicine and biology, enhancing healthcare applications. This program is ideal for students interested in improving…

Institutions
6
offering CIP 14.05
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
732
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$69,873
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
4
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,914
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
80%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Bioengineers and Biomedical Engineers
$99,740
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1North Carolina State University at Raleigh
Raleigh Public · Bachelor's degree
$74,01620285%—$18,638
2University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Public · Bachelor's degree
$70,56119991%—$15,000
3Duke University
Durham Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$69,87326497%$16,260$13,894
4North Carolina A & T State University
Greensboro Public · Bachelor's degree
$52,9484457%—$30,743

Colleges awarding the most Biomedical/Medical Engineering degrees in North Carolina

Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Duke University
Durham Private not-for-profit
264$69,873
2North Carolina State University at Raleigh
Raleigh Public
202$74,016
3University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Public
199$70,561
4North Carolina A & T State University
Greensboro Public
44$52,948
5Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem Private not-for-profit
19Not reported
6East Carolina University
Greenville Public
4Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Bioengineers and Biomedical Engineers (SOC 17-2031).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+5.2%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~1,300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$106,950
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingSpeakingScienceMathematics

What Bioengineers and Biomedical Engineers earn in North Carolina

Jobs in North Carolina
920
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$99,740
median $94,790
Best-paying metro
$103,990
Raleigh-Cary, NC

Related careers

Bioengineers and Biomedical Engineers
$99,740 avg · 920 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Biomedical/Medical Engineering programs in North Carolina.

Which North Carolina colleges award the most Biomedical/Medical Engineering degrees?+

Duke University (264 graduates a year), North Carolina State University at Raleigh (202 graduates a year) and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (199 graduates a year) award the most Biomedical/Medical Engineering degrees in North Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 6 North Carolina colleges offer Biomedical/Medical Engineering.

What is the best college for Biomedical/Medical Engineering in North Carolina?+

By graduate earnings, North Carolina State University at Raleigh leads among bachelor's Biomedical/Medical Engineering programs in North Carolina, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $74,016, College Scorecard. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Duke University follow. By degrees awarded, Duke University is the largest, with 264 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Biomedical/Medical Engineering program in North Carolina has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, North Carolina State University at Raleigh tops the list at $74,016. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Bioengineers and Biomedical Engineers earn in North Carolina?+

The average annual wage for Bioengineers and Biomedical Engineers in North Carolina is $99,740 (median $94,790), across about 920 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Biomedical/Medical Engineering program?+

The Biomedical/Medical Engineering program focuses on applying engineering principles and design concepts to the fields of medicine and biology, enhancing healthcare applications. This program is ideal for students interested in improving…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, reading comprehension, writing, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Bioengineers and Biomedical Engineers?+

The national job outlook is about +5.2% growth with around 1,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card