North Carolina · Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services

Best colleges for Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services in North Carolina

Ranked by graduate earnings

Martin Community College, Southwestern Community College and Nash Community College are the top Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services programs in North Carolina by graduate earnings. Martin Community College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $42,820, College Scorecard. Central Piedmont Community College, Wake Technical Community College and Gaston College award the most Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services degrees and certificates in North Carolina: 125, 73 and 59 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 48 North Carolina colleges offer Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services and award 1,264 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services program prepares students for a variety of roles in the healthcare sector, focusing on diagnostic, preventive, therapeutic, and rehabilitative services. This program is ideal for individuals…

Institutions
48
offering CIP 51.08
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,264
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$36,277
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
23
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,837
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
46%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Medical Assistants
$44,090
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Martin Community College
Williamston Public · Associate degree
$42,8202039%——
2Southwestern Community College
Sylva Public · Associate degree
$42,3744353%—$18,702
3Nash Community College
Rocky Mount Public · Associate degree
$38,5893041%—$14,882
4Rowan-Cabarrus Community College
Salisbury Public · Associate degree
$37,4652335%——
5Cabarrus College of Health Sciences
Concord Private not-for-profit · Associate degree
$37,4223071%$16,110$23,307
6Guilford Technical Community College
Jamestown Public · Associate degree
$36,2775131%—$24,002
7Central Piedmont Community College
Charlotte Public · Associate degree
$35,96712531%—$17,512
8Forsyth Technical Community College
Winston-Salem Public · Associate degree
$35,9373234%——
9Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute
Hudson Public · Associate degree
$35,5524145%——
10Pitt Community College
Winterville Public · Associate degree
$34,2942635%—$20,700

Colleges awarding the most Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services degrees in North Carolina

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Central Piedmont Community College
Charlotte Public
125$35,967
2Wake Technical Community College
Raleigh Public
73Not reported
3Gaston College
Dallas Public
59Not reported
4Cape Fear Community College
Wilmington Public
53Not reported
5Guilford Technical Community College
Jamestown Public
51$36,277
6Montgomery Community College
Troy Public
45$30,388
7Southwestern Community College
Sylva Public
43$42,374
8Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute
Hudson Public
41$35,552
9Davidson-Davie Community College
Thomasville Public
39$33,142
10Miller-Motte College - Fayetteville
Fayetteville Private for-profit
38$22,869
Show the other 38 North Carolina colleges offering Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Johnston Community CollegeSmithfieldPublic37
Fayetteville Technical Community CollegeFayettevillePublic34
Craven Community CollegeNew BernPublic33
Forsyth Technical Community CollegeWinston-SalemPublic32
Cabarrus College of Health SciencesConcordPrivate not-for-profit30
Nash Community CollegeRocky MountPublic30
Stanly Community CollegeAlbemarlePublic30
Durham Technical Community CollegeDurhamPublic29
Miller-Motte College - JacksonvilleJacksonvillePrivate for-profit28
Wilkes Community CollegeWilkesboroPublic27
Pitt Community CollegeWintervillePublic26
Southeastern College - CharlotteCharlottePrivate for-profit25
Edgecombe Community CollegeTarboroPublic24
Miller-Motte College - RaleighRaleighPrivate for-profit24
Rowan-Cabarrus Community CollegeSalisburyPublic23
Martin Community CollegeWilliamstonPublic20
Sampson Community CollegeClintonPublic20
Gwinnett CollegeRaleighPrivate for-profit20
Central Carolina Community CollegeSanfordPublic18
Piedmont Community CollegeRoxboroPublic18
Lenoir Community CollegeKinstonPublic17
Carteret Community CollegeMorehead CityPublic16
Richmond Community CollegeHamletPublic16
Alamance Community CollegeGrahamPublic15
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community CollegeAshevillePublic13
Mitchell Community CollegeStatesvillePublic13
Western Piedmont Community CollegeMorgantonPublic13
Mayland Community CollegeSpruce PinePublic12
Wayne Community CollegeGoldsboroPublic11
Surry Community CollegeDobsonPublic10
Pamlico Community CollegeGrantsboroPublic8
Cleveland Community CollegeShelbyPublic7
South Piedmont Community CollegePolktonPublic5
Vance-Granville Community CollegeHendersonPublic4
Haywood Community CollegeClydePublic3
Randolph Community CollegeAsheboroPublic3
College of the AlbemarleElizabeth CityPublic2
Tri-County Community CollegeMurphyPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Medical Assistants (SOC 31-9092).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+12.5%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~112,300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$44,200
typically Postsecondary nondegree award

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingMonitoringWriting

What Medical Assistants earn in North Carolina

Jobs in North Carolina
23,650
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$44,090
median $45,140
Best-paying metro
$46,420
Durham-Chapel Hill, NC

Related careers

Medical Assistants
$44,090 avg · 23,650 jobs
Pharmacy Technicians
$44,500 avg · 17,260 jobs
Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other
$52,610 avg · 6,640 jobs
Surgical Technologists
$61,530 avg · 4,400 jobs
Physical Therapist Assistants
$68,790 avg · 3,280 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services programs in North Carolina.

Which North Carolina colleges award the most Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services degrees?+

Central Piedmont Community College (125 graduates a year), Wake Technical Community College (73 graduates a year) and Gaston College (59 graduates a year) award the most Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services degrees and certificates in North Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 48 North Carolina colleges offer Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.

What is the best college for Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services in North Carolina?+

By graduate earnings, Martin Community College leads among Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services programs in North Carolina, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $42,820, College Scorecard. Southwestern Community College and Nash Community College follow. By degrees awarded, Central Piedmont Community College is the largest, with 125 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services program in North Carolina has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Martin Community College tops the list at $42,820. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Medical Assistants earn in North Carolina?+

The average annual wage for Medical Assistants in North Carolina is $44,090 (median $45,140), across about 23,650 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services program?+

The Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services program prepares students for a variety of roles in the healthcare sector, focusing on diagnostic, preventive, therapeutic, and rehabilitative services. This program is ideal for individuals…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Medical Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +12.5% growth with around 112,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services in other statesKansasHawaiiNew HampshireWashingtonArkansasMinnesotaOregonMassachusetts

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card