New York · Microbiological Sciences and Immunology

Best colleges for Microbiological Sciences and Immunology in New York

Ranked by graduates a year

University of Rochester, Cornell University and Columbia University award the most Microbiological Sciences and Immunology degrees and certificates in New York: 25, 14 and 12 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 13 New York colleges offer Microbiological Sciences and Immunology and award 129 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Microbiological Sciences and Immunology program focuses on the study of microorganisms and their interactions with humans, animals, plants, and the environment. This program is ideal for students interested in biological and biomedical…

Institutions
13
offering CIP 26.05
States offered
49
with a program page
Degrees / yr
129
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$25,874
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
78%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Microbiologists
$93,220
BLS OEWS May 2025

13 institutions offering Microbiological Sciences and Immunology in New York

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Rochester
Rochester Private not-for-profit
—2585%$25,874—
2Cornell University
Ithaca Private not-for-profit
—1495%$17,613—
3Columbia University
New York Private not-for-profit
—1296%$15,315—
4Weill Medical College of Cornell University
New York Private not-for-profit Graduate only
—12———
5University at Buffalo
Buffalo Public
—1275%——
6St. Francis College
Brooklyn Private not-for-profit
—1055%$26,091—
7Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Albany Private not-for-profit
—968%$23,207—
8Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Bronx Private not-for-profit Graduate only
—8———
9New York University
New York Private not-for-profit
—788%$29,023—
10Stony Brook University
Stony Brook Public
—776%——
11Upstate Medical University
Syracuse Public
—6———
12New York Medical College
Valhalla Private not-for-profit Graduate only
—5———
13Wagner College
Staten Island Private not-for-profit
—265%$27,316—

Colleges awarding the most Microbiological Sciences and Immunology degrees in New York

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Rochester
Rochester Private not-for-profit
25Not reported
2Cornell University
Ithaca Private not-for-profit
14Not reported
3Columbia University
New York Private not-for-profit
12Not reported
4University at Buffalo
Buffalo Public
12Not reported
5St. Francis College
Brooklyn Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
6Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Albany Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
7New York University
New York Private not-for-profit
7Not reported
8Stony Brook University
Stony Brook Public
7Not reported
9Upstate Medical University
Syracuse Public
6Not reported
10Wagner College
Staten Island Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
Show the other 3 New York colleges offering Microbiological Sciences and Immunology
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Weill Medical College of Cornell University (Graduate only)New YorkPrivate not-for-profit12
Albert Einstein College of Medicine (Graduate only)BronxPrivate not-for-profit8
New York Medical College (Graduate only)ValhallaPrivate not-for-profit5

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Microbiologists (SOC 19-1022).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~1,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$87,330
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

ScienceReading ComprehensionWritingCritical ThinkingActive ListeningActive Learning

What Microbiologists earn in New York

Jobs in New York
1,050
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$93,220
median $81,090
Best-paying metro
$96,080
New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ

Related careers

Medical and Health Services Managers
$184,960 avg · 33,200 jobs
Biological Technicians
$60,960 avg · 5,050 jobs
Biological Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$114,100 avg · 3,870 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Microbiological Sciences and Immunology programs in New York.

Which New York colleges award the most Microbiological Sciences and Immunology degrees?+

University of Rochester (25 graduates a year), Cornell University (14 graduates a year) and Columbia University (12 graduates a year) award the most Microbiological Sciences and Immunology degrees and certificates in New York, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 13 New York colleges offer Microbiological Sciences and Immunology.

How much do Microbiologists earn in New York?+

The average annual wage for Microbiologists in New York is $93,220 (median $81,090), across about 1,050 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Microbiological Sciences and Immunology program?+

The Microbiological Sciences and Immunology program focuses on the study of microorganisms and their interactions with humans, animals, plants, and the environment. This program is ideal for students interested in biological and biomedical…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop science, reading comprehension, writing, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Microbiologists?+

The national job outlook is about +4.1% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Microbiological Sciences and Immunology in other statesWisconsinMassachusettsCaliforniaNorth CarolinaWashingtonKansasUtahNebraska

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card