New Mexico · Liberal Arts and Sciences

Best colleges for Liberal Arts and Sciences in New Mexico

Ranked by graduate earnings

New Mexico State University, University of New Mexico and St. John's College are the top bachelor's Liberal Arts and Sciences programs in New Mexico by graduate earnings. New Mexico State University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $31,568, College Scorecard. University of New Mexico, New Mexico State University and St. John's College award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in New Mexico: 157, 141 and 119 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 29 New Mexico colleges offer Liberal Arts and Sciences and award 5,061 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Liberal Arts and Sciences program, formally known as Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, offers a broad educational foundation in various disciplines. This program is designed for students seeking a well-rounded…

Institutions
29
offering CIP 24.01
States & territories
59
with a program page
Degrees / yr
5,061
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$27,868
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
21
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,042
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
32%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Postsecondary Teachers, All Other
$83,990
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1New Mexico State University
Las Cruces Public · Bachelor's degree
$31,56814155%—$24,656
2University of New Mexico
Albuquerque Public · Bachelor's degree
$31,42815755%—$23,125
3St. John's College
Santa Fe Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$23,02911955%$22,042$27,000
4New Mexico Highlands University
Las Vegas Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$26,4611526%—$28,606

Top 10 certificate and associate programs

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Central New Mexico Community College
Albuquerque Public · Associate degree
$31,0972,34431%—$6,625
2New Mexico Junior College
Hobbs Public · Associate degree
$27,17927558%—$6,500
3Eastern New Mexico University
Portales Public · Associate degree
$21,12935745%—$11,110
4Clovis Community College
Clovis Public · Associate degree
$18,36222234%—$11,000
5San Juan College
Farmington Public · Associate degree
$17,96936337%—$6,402
6New Mexico Military Institute
Roswell Public · Associate degree
$10,6279844%—$5,500
7Luna Community College
Las Vegas Public · Certificate Small program
$32,0911328%——
8New Mexico State University - Dona Ana
Las Cruces Public · Associate degree
$27,86840219%—$10,497
9Southeast New Mexico College
Carlsbad Public · Associate degree
$27,8682520%—$10,497
10University of New Mexico-Gallup Campus
Gallup Public · Associate degree
$22,41711820%—$10,084

Colleges awarding the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in New Mexico

Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of New Mexico
Albuquerque Public
157$31,428
2New Mexico State University
Las Cruces Public
141$31,568
3St. John's College
Santa Fe Private not-for-profit
119$23,029
4Western New Mexico University
Silver City Public
104Not reported
5Mesalands Community College
Tucumcari Public
38Not reported
6New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Socorro Public
5Not reported
Show the other 23 New Mexico colleges offering Liberal Arts and Sciences

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Postsecondary Teachers, All Other (SOC 25-1199).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.8%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~13,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$78,490
typically Doctoral or professional degree

What Postsecondary Teachers, All Other earn in New Mexico

Jobs in New Mexico
1,360
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$83,990
median $78,840
Best-paying metro
$92,840
Santa Fe, NM

Related careers

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Liberal Arts and Sciences programs in New Mexico.

Which New Mexico colleges award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees?+

University of New Mexico (157 graduates a year), New Mexico State University (141 graduates a year) and St. John's College (119 graduates a year) award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in New Mexico, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 29 New Mexico colleges offer Liberal Arts and Sciences.

What is the best college for Liberal Arts and Sciences in New Mexico?+

By graduate earnings, New Mexico State University leads among bachelor's Liberal Arts and Sciences programs in New Mexico, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $31,568, College Scorecard. University of New Mexico and St. John's College follow. By degrees awarded, University of New Mexico is the largest, with 157 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Liberal Arts and Sciences program in New Mexico has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, New Mexico State University tops the list at $31,568. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Postsecondary Teachers, All Other earn in New Mexico?+

The average annual wage for Postsecondary Teachers, All Other in New Mexico is $83,990 (median $78,840), across about 1,360 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Liberal Arts and Sciences program?+

The Liberal Arts and Sciences program, formally known as Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, offers a broad educational foundation in various disciplines. This program is designed for students seeking a well-rounded…

What is the job outlook for Postsecondary Teachers, All Other?+

The national job outlook is about +1.8% growth with around 13,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card