Best colleges for Area Studies in New Jersey
Ranked by graduate earnings
Princeton University, Rowan University and Stockton University award the most Area Studies degrees and certificates in New Jersey: 22, 12 and 7 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 6 New Jersey colleges offer Area Studies and award 51 degrees and certificates a year in all.
Area Studies is an interdisciplinary program that focuses on the research and scholarship of specific geographical, national, or cultural regions. This field encompasses various disciplines, including international relations, history,…
Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Rutgers University - New Brunswick New Brunswick Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $21,409 | 6 | 84% | — | $25,973 |
Colleges awarding the most Area Studies degrees in New Jersey
Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Princeton University Princeton Private not-for-profit | 22 | Not reported |
| 2 | Rowan University Glassboro Public | 12 | Not reported |
| 3 | Stockton University Galloway Public | 7 | Not reported |
| 4 | Rutgers University - New Brunswick New Brunswick Public | 6 | $21,409 |
| 5 | Rutgers University - Newark Newark Public | 3 | Not reported |
| 6 | Seton Hall University South Orange Private not-for-profit | 1 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Area, Ethnic, and Cultural Studies Teachers, Postsecondary (SOC 25-1062).
Top skills
What Area, Ethnic, and Cultural Studies Teachers, Postsecondary earn in New Jersey
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Area Studies programs in New Jersey.
Which New Jersey colleges award the most Area Studies degrees?+
Princeton University (22 graduates a year), Rowan University (12 graduates a year) and Stockton University (7 graduates a year) award the most Area Studies degrees and certificates in New Jersey, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 6 New Jersey colleges offer Area Studies.
How much do Area, Ethnic, and Cultural Studies Teachers, Postsecondary earn in New Jersey?+
The average annual wage for Area, Ethnic, and Cultural Studies Teachers, Postsecondary in New Jersey is $104,710 (median $97,500), across about 480 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Area Studies program?+
Area Studies is an interdisciplinary program that focuses on the research and scholarship of specific geographical, national, or cultural regions. This field encompasses various disciplines, including international relations, history,…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, speaking, writing, active learning, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Area, Ethnic, and Cultural Studies Teachers, Postsecondary?+
The national job outlook is about +2.4% growth with around 1,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card