Nevada · Criminal Justice and Corrections

Best colleges for Criminal Justice and Corrections in Nevada

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Nevada-Las Vegas, University of Nevada-Reno and Northwest Career College award the most Criminal Justice and Corrections degrees and certificates in Nevada: 275, 149 and 81 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 8 Nevada colleges offer Criminal Justice and Corrections and award 821 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Criminal Justice and Corrections program focuses on the various functions carried out by government agencies related to the punishment, treatment, and supervision of individuals convicted of crimes. This program is ideal for students…

Institutions
8
offering CIP 43.01
States & territories
57
with a program page
Degrees / yr
821
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$36,363
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$15,787
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
43%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Correctional Officers and Jailers
$82,150
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Nevada-Las Vegas
Las Vegas Public · Bachelor's degree
$37,63927551%—$20,484
2Nevada State University
Henderson Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,3635234%—$19,500
3College of Southern Nevada
Las Vegas Public · Associate degree
$26,30120919%—$6,687

Colleges awarding the most Criminal Justice and Corrections degrees in Nevada

Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Nevada-Las Vegas
Las Vegas Public
275$37,639
2University of Nevada-Reno
Reno Public
149Not reported
3Northwest Career College
Las Vegas Private for-profit
81Not reported
4Nevada State University
Henderson Public
52$36,363
5Truckee Meadows Community College
Reno Public
37Not reported
6Western Nevada College
Carson City Public
14Not reported
Show the other 2 Nevada colleges offering Criminal Justice and Corrections
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
College of Southern NevadaLas VegasPublic209
Great Basin College (Online)ElkoPublic4

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Correctional Officers and Jailers (SOC 33-3012).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-7.8%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~30,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$57,970
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Active ListeningMonitoringSpeakingCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive Learning

What Correctional Officers and Jailers earn in Nevada

Jobs in Nevada
3,240
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$82,150
median $76,490
Best-paying metro
$85,560
Las Vegas-Henderson-North Las Vegas, NV

Related careers

Security Guards
$39,770 avg · 26,680 jobs
Police and Sheriff's Patrol Officers
$86,470 avg · 5,720 jobs
Compliance Officers
$82,690 avg · 4,400 jobs
Child, Family, and School Social Workers
$65,930 avg · 4,030 jobs
Correctional Officers and Jailers
$82,150 avg · 3,240 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Criminal Justice and Corrections programs in Nevada.

Which Nevada colleges award the most Criminal Justice and Corrections degrees?+

University of Nevada-Las Vegas (275 graduates a year), University of Nevada-Reno (149 graduates a year) and Northwest Career College (81 graduates a year) award the most Criminal Justice and Corrections degrees and certificates in Nevada, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 8 Nevada colleges offer Criminal Justice and Corrections.

Which Criminal Justice and Corrections program in Nevada has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Nevada-Las Vegas tops the list at $37,639. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Correctional Officers and Jailers earn in Nevada?+

The average annual wage for Correctional Officers and Jailers in Nevada is $82,150 (median $76,490), across about 3,240 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Criminal Justice and Corrections program?+

The Criminal Justice and Corrections program focuses on the various functions carried out by government agencies related to the punishment, treatment, and supervision of individuals convicted of crimes. This program is ideal for students…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, monitoring, speaking, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Correctional Officers and Jailers?+

The national job outlook is about -7.8% growth with around 30,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card