Montana · Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians

Best colleges for Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians in Montana

Ranked by graduate earnings

Helena College University of Montana, Montana State University - Northern and Montana State University Billings award the most Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Montana: 61, 61 and 14 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 7 Montana colleges offer Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians and award 159 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians program prepares students for a career in the automotive industry, focusing on the skills needed to diagnose and repair various vehicle systems. This program is ideal for…

Institutions
7
offering CIP 47.06
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
159
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$46,288
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
39%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians
$54,330
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Helena College University of Montana
Helena Public · Associate degree
$46,2886133%—$14,028
2Montana State University Billings
Billings Public · Associate degree Small program
$47,7021430%——

Colleges awarding the most Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians degrees in Montana

Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Helena College University of Montana
Helena Public
61$46,288
2Montana State University - Northern
Havre Public
61Not reported
3Montana State University Billings
Billings Public
14$47,702
4The University of Montana
Missoula Public
9Not reported
5Highlands College of Montana Tech
Butte Public
7Not reported
6Miles Community College
Miles City Public
1Not reported
Show the other 1 Montana colleges offering Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Fort Peck Community CollegePoplarPublic6

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians (SOC 49-3092).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+11.5%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~2,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$50,540
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingActive LearningMonitoring

What Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians earn in Montana

Jobs in Montana
140
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$54,330
median $57,310
Best-paying metro
$53,440
Billings, MT

Related careers

Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics
$59,310 avg · 2,900 jobs
First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers
$84,430 avg · 2,690 jobs
Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists
$60,940 avg · 1,230 jobs
Automotive Body and Related Repairers
$57,420 avg · 500 jobs
Coating, Painting, and Spraying Machine Setters, Operators, and Tenders
$48,980 avg · 330 jobs
Aircraft Mechanics and Service Technicians
$71,970 avg · 310 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians programs in Montana.

Which Montana colleges award the most Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians degrees?+

Helena College University of Montana (61 graduates a year), Montana State University - Northern (61 graduates a year) and Montana State University Billings (14 graduates a year) award the most Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Montana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 7 Montana colleges offer Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.

Which Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians program in Montana has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Helena College University of Montana tops the list at $46,288. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians earn in Montana?+

The average annual wage for Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians in Montana is $54,330 (median $57,310), across about 140 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians program?+

The Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians program prepares students for a career in the automotive industry, focusing on the skills needed to diagnose and repair various vehicle systems. This program is ideal for…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians?+

The national job outlook is about +11.5% growth with around 2,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians in other statesNorth DakotaHawaiiNebraskaNew MexicoUtahVermontIllinoisIndiana

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card