Montana · Teacher Education and Professional Development

Best colleges for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Montana

Ranked by graduate earnings

Montana State University, The University of Montana-Western and The University of Montana are the top bachelor's Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Montana by graduate earnings. Montana State University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $37,501, College Scorecard. The University of Montana-Western, Montana State University and The University of Montana award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Montana: 104, 67 and 43 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 16 Montana colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development and award 330 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focusing on various levels and methods, prepares individuals for careers in education. This program is designed for those who aspire to teach or work in educational…

Institutions
16
offering CIP 13.12
States & territories
57
with a program page
Degrees / yr
330
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$36,742
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
5
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,500
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
37%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education
$38,440
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 5 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Montana State University
Bozeman Public · Bachelor's degree
$37,5016757%—$26,000
2The University of Montana-Western
Dillon Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,74210451%—$23,269
3The University of Montana
Missoula Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,1424348%—$24,880
4Carroll College
Helena Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$43,4691269%$21,440$27,000
5Montana State University Billings
Billings Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$35,1321930%—$24,652

Colleges awarding the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Montana

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1The University of Montana-Western
Dillon Public
104$36,742
2Montana State University
Bozeman Public
67$37,501
3The University of Montana
Missoula Public
43$36,142
4Montana State University Billings
Billings Public
19$35,132
5Carroll College
Helena Private not-for-profit
12$43,469
6Blackfeet Community College
Browning Private not-for-profit
11Not reported
7Montana State University - Northern
Havre Public
10Not reported
8Stone Child College
Box Elder Public
8Not reported
9Great Falls College Montana State University
Great Falls Public
7Not reported
10Rocky Mountain College
Billings Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
Show the other 6 Montana colleges offering Teacher Education and Professional Development
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Salish Kootenai CollegePabloPublic24
Chief Dull Knife CollegeLame DeerPublic7
Fort Peck Community CollegePoplarPublic6
Little Big Horn CollegeCrow AgencyPublic4
University of ProvidenceGreat FallsPrivate not-for-profit3
Flathead Valley Community CollegeKalispellPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education (SOC 25-2011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~65,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$37,120
typically Associate's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningLearning StrategiesReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingMonitoring

What Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Montana

Jobs in Montana
960
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$38,440
median $36,540
Best-paying metro
$42,830
Bozeman, MT

Related careers

Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
$58,150 avg · 4,960 jobs
Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
$61,240 avg · 1,980 jobs
Self-Enrichment Teachers
$47,540 avg · 1,070 jobs
Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education
$38,440 avg · 960 jobs
Training and Development Specialists
$66,830 avg · 900 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Montana.

Which Montana colleges award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees?+

The University of Montana-Western (104 graduates a year), Montana State University (67 graduates a year) and The University of Montana (43 graduates a year) award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Montana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 16 Montana colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development.

What is the best college for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Montana?+

By graduate earnings, Montana State University leads among bachelor's Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Montana, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $37,501, College Scorecard. The University of Montana-Western and The University of Montana follow. By degrees awarded, The University of Montana-Western is the largest, with 104 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Teacher Education and Professional Development program in Montana has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Montana State University tops the list at $37,501. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Montana?+

The average annual wage for Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education in Montana is $38,440 (median $36,540), across about 960 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Teacher Education and Professional Development program?+

The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focusing on various levels and methods, prepares individuals for careers in education. This program is designed for those who aspire to teach or work in educational…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, learning strategies, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education?+

The national job outlook is about +4.1% growth with around 65,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Teacher Education and Professional Development in other statesDistrict of ColumbiaNew JerseyAlaskaMarylandHawaiiUtahNevadaDelaware

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card