Missouri · Romance Languages

Best colleges for Romance Languages in Missouri

Ranked by graduates a year

Missouri State University - Springfield, Washington University in St Louis and Rockhurst University award the most Romance Languages degrees and certificates in Missouri: 21, 8 and 6 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 14 Missouri colleges offer Romance Languages and award 60 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Romance Languages program, formally known as Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, focuses on the study of languages, literatures, and cultures associated with Romance languages. This program is ideal for students interested…

Institutions
14
offering CIP 16.09
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
60
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,890
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
64%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Interpreters and Translators
$62,710
BLS OEWS May 2025

14 institutions offering Romance Languages in Missouri

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Missouri State University - Springfield
Springfield Public
—2158%——
2Washington University in St Louis
St. Louis Private not-for-profit
—894%$14,126—
3Rockhurst University
Kansas City Private not-for-profit
—675%$21,890$19,000
4Southeast Missouri State University
Cape Girardeau Public
—658%——
5Saint Louis University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
—580%$24,886$27,000
6Missouri Southern State University
Joplin Public
—442%——
7Northwest Missouri State University
Maryville Public
—254%——
8Westminster College
Fulton Private not-for-profit
—255%$25,185—
9Evangel University
Springfield Private not-for-profit
—165%$17,881—
10University of Missouri-Kansas City
Kansas City Public
—155%——
11University of Missouri-St Louis
Saint Louis Public
—157%——
12College of the Ozarks
Point Lookout Private not-for-profit
—164%$8,360—
13Webster University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
—164%$25,090—
14William Jewell College
Liberty Private not-for-profit
—168%$14,072—

Colleges awarding the most Romance Languages degrees in Missouri

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Missouri State University - Springfield
Springfield Public
21Not reported
2Washington University in St Louis
St. Louis Private not-for-profit
8Not reported
3Rockhurst University
Kansas City Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
4Southeast Missouri State University
Cape Girardeau Public
6Not reported
5Saint Louis University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
6Missouri Southern State University
Joplin Public
4Not reported
7Northwest Missouri State University
Maryville Public
2Not reported
8Westminster College
Fulton Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
9Evangel University
Springfield Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
10University of Missouri-Kansas City
Kansas City Public
1Not reported
Show the other 4 Missouri colleges offering Romance Languages
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
University of Missouri-St LouisSaint LouisPublic1
College of the OzarksPoint LookoutPrivate not-for-profit1
Webster UniversitySaint LouisPrivate not-for-profit1
William Jewell CollegeLibertyPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~6,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$59,440
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingMonitoringCritical Thinking

What Interpreters and Translators earn in Missouri

Jobs in Missouri
440
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$62,710
median $57,010
Best-paying metro
$66,560
Kansas City, MO-KS

Related careers

Interpreters and Translators
$62,710 avg · 440 jobs
Foreign Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary
$86,550 avg · 330 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Romance Languages programs in Missouri.

Which Missouri colleges award the most Romance Languages degrees?+

Missouri State University - Springfield (21 graduates a year), Washington University in St Louis (8 graduates a year) and Rockhurst University (6 graduates a year) award the most Romance Languages degrees and certificates in Missouri, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 14 Missouri colleges offer Romance Languages.

How much do Interpreters and Translators earn in Missouri?+

The average annual wage for Interpreters and Translators in Missouri is $62,710 (median $57,010), across about 440 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Romance Languages program?+

The Romance Languages program, formally known as Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, focuses on the study of languages, literatures, and cultures associated with Romance languages. This program is ideal for students interested…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Interpreters and Translators?+

The national job outlook is about +1.7% growth with around 6,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card