Missouri · Criminal Justice and Corrections

Best colleges for Criminal Justice and Corrections in Missouri

Ranked by graduate earnings

Park University, Columbia College and Saint Louis University are the top bachelor's Criminal Justice and Corrections programs in Missouri by graduate earnings. Park University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $49,305, College Scorecard. University of Central Missouri, Columbia College and Park University award the most Criminal Justice and Corrections degrees in Missouri: 109, 103 and 103 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 39 Missouri colleges offer Criminal Justice and Corrections and award 1,136 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Criminal Justice and Corrections program focuses on the various functions carried out by government agencies related to the punishment, treatment, and supervision of individuals convicted of crimes. This program is ideal for students…

Institutions
39
offering CIP 43.01
States & territories
57
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,136
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$45,217
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
20
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,482
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
46%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Correctional Officers and Jailers
$46,230
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Park University
Parkville Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$49,30510338%$16,013$18,299
2Columbia College
Columbia Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$46,19510342%$23,247$25,750
3Saint Louis University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$45,7093780%$24,886$23,694
4University of Central Missouri
Warrensburg Public · Bachelor's degree
$37,22110954%—$23,279
5Southeast Missouri State University
Cape Girardeau Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,5375158%—$26,625
6Lindenwood University
Saint Charles Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$36,2534749%$17,436$27,000
7Missouri Baptist University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$42,5551148%$25,407$23,187
8Missouri Western State University
Saint Joseph Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$39,8081739%—$20,149
9Central Methodist University - College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Fayette Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$36,2231151%$25,582$26,000
10Harris-Stowe State University
Saint Louis Public · Bachelor's degree
$34,1082628%—$32,000

Top 5 certificate and associate programs

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Jefferson College
Hillsboro Public · Certificate
$61,6414138%——
2Metropolitan Community College - Kansas City
Kansas City Public · Certificate
$48,1372034%—$4,821
3Mineral Area College
Park Hills Public · Certificate
$45,2175249%—$9,500
4Drury University - College of Continuing Professional Studies
Springfield Private not-for-profit · Certificate
$41,2776543%$14,825$8,265
5Missouri Southern State University
Joplin Public · Certificate
$34,05814342%—$18,649

Colleges awarding the most Criminal Justice and Corrections degrees in Missouri

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Central Missouri
Warrensburg Public
109$37,221
2Columbia College
Columbia Private not-for-profit
103$46,195
3Park University
Parkville Private not-for-profit
103$49,305
4Missouri State University - Springfield
Springfield Public
54Not reported
5Southeast Missouri State University
Cape Girardeau Public
51$36,537
6Lindenwood University
Saint Charles Private not-for-profit
47$36,253
7Ozarks Technical Community College
Springfield Public
44Not reported
8Saint Louis University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
37$45,709
9Webster University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
21Not reported
10Crowder College
Neosho Public
18Not reported
Show the other 29 Missouri colleges offering Criminal Justice and Corrections
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Missouri Southern State UniversityJoplinPublic143
Drury University - College of Continuing Professional StudiesSpringfieldPrivate not-for-profit65
Mineral Area CollegePark HillsPublic52
Jefferson CollegeHillsboroPublic41
Harris-Stowe State UniversitySaint LouisPublic26
Saint Louis Community CollegeBridgetonPublic24
Metropolitan Community College - Kansas CityKansas CityPublic20
Missouri Western State UniversitySaint JosephPublic17
Rockhurst UniversityKansas CityPrivate not-for-profit15
Truman State UniversityKirksvillePublic14
Missouri Valley CollegeMarshallPrivate not-for-profit12
Central Methodist University - College of Liberal Arts and SciencesFayettePrivate not-for-profit11
Culver-Stockton CollegeCantonPrivate not-for-profit11
Lincoln UniversityJefferson CityPublic11
Missouri Baptist UniversitySaint LouisPrivate not-for-profit11
Central Methodist University - College of Graduate and Extended StudiesFayettePrivate not-for-profit10
College of the OzarksPoint LookoutPrivate not-for-profit9
Southwest Baptist UniversityBolivarPrivate not-for-profit9
East Central CollegeUnionPublic8
Evangel UniversitySpringfieldPrivate not-for-profit7
Three Rivers CollegePoplar BluffPublic7
North Central Missouri CollegeTrentonPublic6
William Woods UniversityFultonPrivate not-for-profit6
Hannibal-LaGrange UniversityHannibalPrivate not-for-profit4
State Fair Community CollegeSedaliaPublic4
Drury UniversitySpringfieldPrivate not-for-profit2
St Charles Community CollegeCottlevillePublic2
Missouri State University - West PlainsWest PlainsPublic1
Evangel University - College of Online Learning (Online)SpringfieldPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Correctional Officers and Jailers (SOC 33-3012).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-7.8%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~30,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$57,970
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Active ListeningMonitoringSpeakingCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive Learning

What Correctional Officers and Jailers earn in Missouri

Jobs in Missouri
6,670
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$46,230
median $42,620
Best-paying metro
$59,900
St. Louis, MO-IL

Related careers

Security Guards
$45,100 avg · 18,630 jobs
Police and Sheriff's Patrol Officers
$62,520 avg · 13,570 jobs
Child, Family, and School Social Workers
$51,360 avg · 9,620 jobs
Compliance Officers
$74,910 avg · 7,000 jobs
Correctional Officers and Jailers
$46,230 avg · 6,670 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Criminal Justice and Corrections programs in Missouri.

Which Missouri colleges award the most Criminal Justice and Corrections degrees?+

University of Central Missouri (109 graduates a year), Columbia College (103 graduates a year) and Park University (103 graduates a year) award the most Criminal Justice and Corrections degrees in Missouri, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 39 Missouri colleges offer Criminal Justice and Corrections.

What is the best college for Criminal Justice and Corrections in Missouri?+

By graduate earnings, Park University leads among bachelor's Criminal Justice and Corrections programs in Missouri, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $49,305, College Scorecard. Columbia College and Saint Louis University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Central Missouri is the largest, with 109 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Criminal Justice and Corrections program in Missouri has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Park University tops the list at $49,305. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Correctional Officers and Jailers earn in Missouri?+

The average annual wage for Correctional Officers and Jailers in Missouri is $46,230 (median $42,620), across about 6,670 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Criminal Justice and Corrections program?+

The Criminal Justice and Corrections program focuses on the various functions carried out by government agencies related to the punishment, treatment, and supervision of individuals convicted of crimes. This program is ideal for students…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, monitoring, speaking, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Correctional Officers and Jailers?+

The national job outlook is about -7.8% growth with around 30,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card