Best colleges for Practical Nursing in Mississippi
Ranked by graduate earnings
Mississippi Delta Community College, Hinds Community College and Pearl River Community College are the top Practical Nursing programs in Mississippi by graduate earnings. Mississippi Delta Community College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $42,855, College Scorecard. Northwest Mississippi Community College, Jones County Junior College and Pearl River Community College award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Mississippi: 195, 140 and 125 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 15 Mississippi colleges offer Practical Nursing and award 983 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…
Top 10 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mississippi Delta Community College Moorhead Public · Certificate | $42,855 | 24 | 31% | — | $16,048 |
| 2 | Hinds Community College Raymond Public · Certificate | $42,518 | 78 | 43% | — | $21,645 |
| 3 | Pearl River Community College Poplarville Public · Certificate | $42,177 | 125 | 37% | — | $14,890 |
| 4 | Holmes Community College Goodman Public · Certificate | $40,058 | 81 | 39% | — | $16,667 |
| 5 | Northeast Mississippi Community College Booneville Public · Certificate | $38,777 | 44 | 34% | — | $12,178 |
| 6 | Itawamba Community College Fulton Public · Certificate | $37,132 | 53 | 50% | — | $10,875 |
| 7 | East Mississippi Community College Scooba Public · Certificate | $36,809 | 32 | 48% | — | $25,628 |
| 8 | Jones County Junior College Ellisville Public · Certificate | $34,148 | 140 | 41% | — | $15,764 |
| 9 | Meridian Community College Meridian Public · Certificate | $34,111 | 64 | 34% | — | $12,313 |
| 10 | Northwest Mississippi Community College Senatobia Public · Certificate | $32,788 | 195 | 45% | — | $10,998 |
Colleges awarding the most Practical Nursing degrees in Mississippi
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Northwest Mississippi Community College Senatobia Public | 195 | $32,788 |
| 2 | Jones County Junior College Ellisville Public | 140 | $34,148 |
| 3 | Pearl River Community College Poplarville Public | 125 | $42,177 |
| 4 | Holmes Community College Goodman Public | 81 | $40,058 |
| 5 | Hinds Community College Raymond Public | 78 | $42,518 |
| 6 | Meridian Community College Meridian Public | 64 | $34,111 |
| 7 | Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College Perkinston Public | 57 | Not reported |
| 8 | Itawamba Community College Fulton Public | 53 | $37,132 |
| 9 | Northeast Mississippi Community College Booneville Public | 44 | $38,777 |
| 10 | Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson Public | 38 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 5 Mississippi colleges offering Practical Nursing
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| East Mississippi Community College | Scooba | Public | 32 |
| Southwest Mississippi Community College | Summit | Public | 30 |
| Mississippi Delta Community College | Moorhead | Public | 24 |
| East Central Community College | Decatur | Public | 12 |
| Coahoma Community College | Clarksdale | Public | 10 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).
Top skills
What Nursing Assistants earn in Mississippi
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Practical Nursing programs in Mississippi.
Which Mississippi colleges award the most Practical Nursing degrees?+
Northwest Mississippi Community College (195 graduates a year), Jones County Junior College (140 graduates a year) and Pearl River Community College (125 graduates a year) award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Mississippi, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 15 Mississippi colleges offer Practical Nursing.
What is the best college for Practical Nursing in Mississippi?+
By graduate earnings, Mississippi Delta Community College leads among Practical Nursing programs in Mississippi, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $42,855, College Scorecard. Hinds Community College and Pearl River Community College follow. By degrees awarded, Northwest Mississippi Community College is the largest, with 195 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Practical Nursing program in Mississippi has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Mississippi Delta Community College tops the list at $42,855. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Nursing Assistants earn in Mississippi?+
The average annual wage for Nursing Assistants in Mississippi is $32,890 (median $31,520), across about 14,200 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Practical Nursing program?+
The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active listening, monitoring, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Nursing Assistants?+
The national job outlook is about +2.3% growth with around 204,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card