Minnesota · Practical Nursing

Best colleges for Practical Nursing in Minnesota

Ranked by graduate earnings

Dakota County Technical College, Ridgewater College and Riverland Community College are the top Practical Nursing programs in Minnesota by graduate earnings. Dakota County Technical College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $48,973, College Scorecard. Minnesota West Community and Technical College, Anoka Technical College and Century College award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Minnesota: 323, 216 and 205 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 25 Minnesota colleges offer Practical Nursing and award 2,497 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…

Institutions
25
offering CIP 51.39
States & territories
56
with a program page
Degrees / yr
2,497
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$44,393
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
18
College Scorecard
Median net price
$19,944
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
43%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Nursing Assistants
$46,030
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Dakota County Technical College
Rosemount Public · Certificate
$48,9739958%—$14,010
2Ridgewater College
Willmar Public · Certificate
$44,9212350%—$23,755
3Riverland Community College
Austin Public · Certificate
$44,7263052%—$22,356
4Saint Paul College
Saint Paul Public · Certificate
$44,39316040%—$17,500
5Northland Community and Technical College
Thief River Falls Public · Certificate
$44,01710656%—$19,131
6Hennepin Technical College
Brooklyn Park Public · Certificate
$43,47013542%—$8,250
7Anoka Technical College
Anoka Public · Certificate
$42,64821666%—$12,000
8Minnesota North College
Hibbing Public · Certificate
$41,30016642%——
9St Cloud Technical and Community College
Saint Cloud Public · Certificate
$39,89710645%—$23,836
10Minnesota State Community and Technical College
Fergus Falls Public · Certificate
$39,1095247%—$19,700

Colleges awarding the most Practical Nursing degrees in Minnesota

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Minnesota West Community and Technical College
Granite Falls Public
323Not reported
2Anoka Technical College
Anoka Public
216$42,648
3Century College
White Bear Lake Public
205Not reported
4Minnesota North College
Hibbing Public
166$41,300
5Saint Paul College
Saint Paul Public
160$44,393
6Hennepin Technical College
Brooklyn Park Public
135$43,470
7Pine Technical & Community College
Pine City Public
126$37,690
8Northland Community and Technical College
Thief River Falls Public
106$44,017
9St Cloud Technical and Community College
Saint Cloud Public
106$39,897
10Dakota County Technical College
Rosemount Public
99$48,973
Show the other 15 Minnesota colleges offering Practical Nursing
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Minneapolis Community and Technical CollegeMinneapolisPublic182
Inver Hills Community CollegeInver Grove HeightsPublic173
Normandale Community CollegeBloomingtonPublic117
Rasmussen University - Minnesota (Online)St. CloudPrivate for-profit84
Minnesota State Community and Technical CollegeFergus FallsPublic52
Alexandria Technical & Community CollegeAlexandriaPublic48
Rochester Community and Technical CollegeRochesterPublic35
Riverland Community CollegeAustinPublic30
South Central CollegeNorth MankatoPublic29
Central Lakes College - BrainerdBrainerdPublic28
Ridgewater CollegeWillmarPublic23
Northwest Technical CollegeBemidjiPublic18
Lake Superior CollegeDuluthPublic14
Fond du Lac Tribal and Community CollegeCloquetPublic12
Minnesota State College SoutheastWinonaPublic10

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.3%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~204,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$39,530
typically Postsecondary nondegree award

Top skills

Active ListeningMonitoringReading ComprehensionSpeakingCritical ThinkingActive Learning

What Nursing Assistants earn in Minnesota

Jobs in Minnesota
29,120
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$46,030
median $46,680
Best-paying metro
$47,640
Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI

Related careers

Nursing Assistants
$46,030 avg · 29,120 jobs
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses
$64,900 avg · 12,840 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Practical Nursing programs in Minnesota.

Which Minnesota colleges award the most Practical Nursing degrees?+

Minnesota West Community and Technical College (323 graduates a year), Anoka Technical College (216 graduates a year) and Century College (205 graduates a year) award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Minnesota, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 25 Minnesota colleges offer Practical Nursing.

What is the best college for Practical Nursing in Minnesota?+

By graduate earnings, Dakota County Technical College leads among Practical Nursing programs in Minnesota, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $48,973, College Scorecard. Ridgewater College and Riverland Community College follow. By degrees awarded, Minnesota West Community and Technical College is the largest, with 323 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Practical Nursing program in Minnesota has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Dakota County Technical College tops the list at $48,973. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Nursing Assistants earn in Minnesota?+

The average annual wage for Nursing Assistants in Minnesota is $46,030 (median $46,680), across about 29,120 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Practical Nursing program?+

The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, monitoring, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Nursing Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +2.3% growth with around 204,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card