Minnesota · Film/Video and Photographic Arts

Best colleges for Film/Video and Photographic Arts in Minnesota

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, Minneapolis College of Art and Design and Century College award the most Film/Video and Photographic Arts degrees in Minnesota: 35, 19 and 13 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 15 Minnesota colleges offer Film/Video and Photographic Arts and award 147 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Film/Video and Photographic Arts program focuses on the art and practice of creating visual content through various mediums, including photography, film, and video production. This program is ideal for students interested in exploring…

Institutions
15
offering CIP 50.06
States offered
49
with a program page
Degrees / yr
147
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$26,156
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
4
College Scorecard
Median net price
$24,998
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
57%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Film and Video Editors
$59,280
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Minneapolis Public · Bachelor's degree
$29,9583585%—$19,875
2Saint Cloud State University
Saint Cloud Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$26,3321040%——
3Minneapolis College of Art and Design
Minneapolis Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$26,1561951%$24,998$27,000

Top certificate or associate program

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Minneapolis Community and Technical College
Minneapolis Public · Associate degree Small program
$21,1721320%—$12,792

Colleges awarding the most Film/Video and Photographic Arts degrees in Minnesota

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Minneapolis Public
35$29,958
2Minneapolis College of Art and Design
Minneapolis Private not-for-profit
19$26,156
3Century College
White Bear Lake Public
13Not reported
4Minnesota State University Moorhead
Moorhead Public
10Not reported
5Saint Cloud State University
Saint Cloud Public
10$26,332
6Carleton College
Northfield Private not-for-profit
8Not reported
7Dakota County Technical College
Rosemount Public
8Not reported
8Minnesota State University - Mankato
Mankato Public
7Not reported
9St Olaf College
Northfield Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
10Central Lakes College - Brainerd
Brainerd Public
5Not reported
Show the other 5 Minnesota colleges offering Film/Video and Photographic Arts
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Minneapolis Community and Technical CollegeMinneapolisPublic13
Crown CollegeSaint BonifaciusPrivate not-for-profit4
Winona State UniversityWinonaPublic4
University of St ThomasSaint PaulPrivate not-for-profit3
Augsburg UniversityMinneapolisPrivate not-for-profit2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Film and Video Editors (SOC 27-4032).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.0%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~3,600
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$70,980
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionSpeakingActive LearningWriting

What Film and Video Editors earn in Minnesota

Jobs in Minnesota
200
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$59,280
median $53,150
Best-paying metro
$63,190
Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI

Related careers

Producers and Directors
$81,760 avg · 1,390 jobs
Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary
$80,340 avg · 1,310 jobs
Photographers
$56,220 avg · 730 jobs
Communications Teachers, Postsecondary
$85,970 avg · 450 jobs
Camera Operators, Television, Video, and Film
$66,800 avg · 300 jobs
Film and Video Editors
$59,280 avg · 200 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Film/Video and Photographic Arts programs in Minnesota.

Which Minnesota colleges award the most Film/Video and Photographic Arts degrees?+

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities (35 graduates a year), Minneapolis College of Art and Design (19 graduates a year) and Century College (13 graduates a year) award the most Film/Video and Photographic Arts degrees in Minnesota, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 15 Minnesota colleges offer Film/Video and Photographic Arts.

Which Film/Video and Photographic Arts program in Minnesota has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities tops the list at $29,958. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Film and Video Editors earn in Minnesota?+

The average annual wage for Film and Video Editors in Minnesota is $59,280 (median $53,150), across about 200 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Film/Video and Photographic Arts program?+

The Film/Video and Photographic Arts program focuses on the art and practice of creating visual content through various mediums, including photography, film, and video production. This program is ideal for students interested in exploring…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, critical thinking, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Film and Video Editors?+

The national job outlook is about +4.0% growth with around 3,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card