Minnesota · Applied Mathematics

Best colleges for Applied Mathematics in Minnesota

Ranked by graduates a year

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, University of Minnesota-Duluth and Metropolitan State University award the most Applied Mathematics degrees and certificates in Minnesota: 91, 13 and 10 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 7 Minnesota colleges offer Applied Mathematics and award 123 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Applied Mathematics program focuses on the practical application of mathematical methods across various fields, including physics, engineering, finance, and biology. This program is ideal for students who are interested in solving…

Institutions
7
offering CIP 27.03
States offered
47
with a program page
Degrees / yr
123
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,114
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
61%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mathematicians
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

7 institutions offering Applied Mathematics in Minnesota

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Minneapolis Public
—9185%——
2University of Minnesota-Duluth
Duluth Public
—1365%——
3Metropolitan State University
Saint Paul Public
—1044%——
4Concordia College at Moorhead
Moorhead Private not-for-profit
—361%$23,425—
5Hamline University
Saint Paul Private not-for-profit
—360%$20,981—
6University of Northwestern-St Paul
Saint Paul Private not-for-profit
—268%$23,114—
7Southwest Minnesota State University
Marshall Public
—145%——

Colleges awarding the most Applied Mathematics degrees in Minnesota

Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Minneapolis Public
91Not reported
2University of Minnesota-Duluth
Duluth Public
13Not reported
3Metropolitan State University
Saint Paul Public
10Not reported
4Concordia College at Moorhead
Moorhead Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
5Hamline University
Saint Paul Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
6University of Northwestern-St Paul
Saint Paul Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
7Southwest Minnesota State University
Marshall Public
1Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mathematicians (SOC 15-2021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-0.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$121,680
typically Master's degree

Top skills

MathematicsCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive LearningScienceWriting

What Mathematicians earn in Minnesota

Jobs in Minnesota
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Financial and Investment Analysts
$108,280 avg · 7,450 jobs
Data Scientists
$126,290 avg · 4,020 jobs
Financial Risk Specialists
$113,470 avg · 1,190 jobs
Actuaries
$138,000 avg · 1,170 jobs
Financial Specialists, All Other
$93,630 avg · 820 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Applied Mathematics programs in Minnesota.

Which Minnesota colleges award the most Applied Mathematics degrees?+

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities (91 graduates a year), University of Minnesota-Duluth (13 graduates a year) and Metropolitan State University (10 graduates a year) award the most Applied Mathematics degrees and certificates in Minnesota, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 7 Minnesota colleges offer Applied Mathematics.

What is the focus of the Applied Mathematics program?+

The Applied Mathematics program focuses on the practical application of mathematical methods across various fields, including physics, engineering, finance, and biology. This program is ideal for students who are interested in solving…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop mathematics, critical thinking, reading comprehension, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mathematicians?+

The national job outlook is about -0.7% growth with around 100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card