Best colleges for Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians in Michigan
Ranked by graduate earnings
Ferris State University, Washtenaw Community College and Western Michigan University award the most Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Michigan: 112, 62 and 17 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 24 Michigan colleges offer Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians and award 365 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians program focuses on the application of engineering and manufacturing technology to enhance production efficiency. It is designed for individuals who are creative and technically skilled,…
Top 4 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ferris State University Big Rapids Public · Bachelor's degree | $78,820 | 112 | 47% | — | $24,250 |
| 2 | Washtenaw Community College Ann Arbor Public · Associate degree | $42,813 | 62 | 33% | — | $15,000 |
| 3 | Grand Rapids Community College Grand Rapids Public · Certificate | $70,622 | 20 | 21% | — | $11,500 |
| 4 | Western Michigan University Kalamazoo Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $63,665 | 17 | 58% | — | $29,875 |
Colleges awarding the most Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians degrees in Michigan
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ferris State University Big Rapids Public | 112 | $78,820 |
| 2 | Washtenaw Community College Ann Arbor Public | 62 | $42,813 |
| 3 | Western Michigan University Kalamazoo Public | 17 | $63,665 |
| 4 | Saginaw Valley State University University Center Public | 15 | Not reported |
| 5 | Wayne State University Detroit Public | 6 | Not reported |
| 6 | Northern Michigan University Marquette Public | 5 | Not reported |
| 7 | Siena Heights University Adrian Private not-for-profit | 5 | Not reported |
| 8 | Eastern Michigan University Ypsilanti Public | 4 | Not reported |
| 9 | Kellogg Community College Battle Creek Public | 3 | Not reported |
| 10 | Lake Superior State University Sault Ste Marie Public | 3 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 14 Michigan colleges offering Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Macomb Community College | Warren | Public | 46 |
| Jackson College | Jackson | Public | 32 |
| Grand Rapids Community College | Grand Rapids | Public | 20 |
| Mid Michigan College | Harrison | Public | 9 |
| Muskegon Community College | Muskegon | Public | 5 |
| Northwestern Michigan College | Traverse City | Public | 5 |
| Delta College | University Center | Public | 4 |
| Henry Ford College | Dearborn | Public | 3 |
| Schoolcraft Community College District | Livonia | Public | 3 |
| University of Michigan-Flint | Flint | Public | 2 |
| Alpena Community College | Alpena | Public | 1 |
| Central Michigan University | Mount Pleasant | Public | 1 |
| Glen Oaks Community College | Centreville | Public | 1 |
| Monroe County Community College | Monroe | Public | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Industrial Engineering Technologists and Technicians (SOC 17-3026).
Top skills
What Industrial Engineering Technologists and Technicians earn in Michigan
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians programs in Michigan.
Which Michigan colleges award the most Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians degrees?+
Ferris State University (112 graduates a year), Washtenaw Community College (62 graduates a year) and Western Michigan University (17 graduates a year) award the most Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Michigan, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 24 Michigan colleges offer Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.
Which Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians program in Michigan has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Ferris State University tops the list at $78,820. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Industrial Engineering Technologists and Technicians earn in Michigan?+
The average annual wage for Industrial Engineering Technologists and Technicians in Michigan is $69,140 (median $64,510), across about 5,410 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians program?+
The Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians program focuses on the application of engineering and manufacturing technology to enhance production efficiency. It is designed for individuals who are creative and technically skilled,…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, active listening, monitoring, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Industrial Engineering Technologists and Technicians?+
The national job outlook is about +1.7% growth with around 6,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card