Michigan · Communication Disorders Sciences and Services

Best colleges for Communication Disorders Sciences and Services in Michigan

Ranked by graduate earnings

Wayne State University, Central Michigan University and Eastern Michigan University are the top bachelor's Communication Disorders Sciences and Services programs in Michigan by graduate earnings. Wayne State University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $24,474, College Scorecard. Calvin University, Central Michigan University and Grand Valley State University award the most Communication Disorders Sciences and Services degrees in Michigan: 115, 96 and 93 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 9 Michigan colleges offer Communication Disorders Sciences and Services and award 632 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Communication Disorders Sciences and Services program focuses on understanding and addressing various communication disorders, including speech, language, and hearing issues. This program is ideal for students interested in helping…

Institutions
9
offering CIP 51.02
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
632
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$23,752
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,391
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
63%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Speech-Language Pathologists
$88,650
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Wayne State University
Detroit Public · Bachelor's degree
$24,4748158%—$24,849
2Central Michigan University
Mount Pleasant Public · Bachelor's degree
$23,7529659%—$23,992
3Eastern Michigan University
Ypsilanti Public · Bachelor's degree
$23,1025746%—$27,750

Colleges awarding the most Communication Disorders Sciences and Services degrees in Michigan

Top 9 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Calvin University
Grand Rapids Private not-for-profit
115Not reported
2Central Michigan University
Mount Pleasant Public
96$23,752
3Grand Valley State University
Allendale Public
93Not reported
4Wayne State University
Detroit Public
81$24,474
5Michigan State University
East Lansing Public
79Not reported
6Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo Public
66Not reported
7Eastern Michigan University
Ypsilanti Public
57$23,102
8Andrews University
Berrien Springs Private not-for-profit
31Not reported
9Northern Michigan University
Marquette Public
14Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Speech-Language Pathologists (SOC 29-1127).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+15.0%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~13,300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$95,410
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingSpeakingLearning Strategies

What Speech-Language Pathologists earn in Michigan

Jobs in Michigan
4,730
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$88,650
median $89,120
Best-paying metro
$94,000
Battle Creek, MI

Related careers

Speech-Language Pathologists
$88,650 avg · 4,730 jobs
Audiologists
$94,580 avg · 250 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Communication Disorders Sciences and Services programs in Michigan.

Which Michigan colleges award the most Communication Disorders Sciences and Services degrees?+

Calvin University (115 graduates a year), Central Michigan University (96 graduates a year) and Grand Valley State University (93 graduates a year) award the most Communication Disorders Sciences and Services degrees in Michigan, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 9 Michigan colleges offer Communication Disorders Sciences and Services.

What is the best college for Communication Disorders Sciences and Services in Michigan?+

By graduate earnings, Wayne State University leads among bachelor's Communication Disorders Sciences and Services programs in Michigan, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $24,474, College Scorecard. Central Michigan University and Eastern Michigan University follow. By degrees awarded, Calvin University is the largest, with 115 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Communication Disorders Sciences and Services program in Michigan has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Wayne State University tops the list at $24,474. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Speech-Language Pathologists earn in Michigan?+

The average annual wage for Speech-Language Pathologists in Michigan is $88,650 (median $89,120), across about 4,730 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Communication Disorders Sciences and Services program?+

The Communication Disorders Sciences and Services program focuses on understanding and addressing various communication disorders, including speech, language, and hearing issues. This program is ideal for students interested in helping…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Speech-Language Pathologists?+

The national job outlook is about +15.0% growth with around 13,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Communication Disorders Sciences and Services in other statesNevadaArizonaOregonRhode IslandIllinoisMassachusettsMarylandMissouri

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card