Best colleges for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Massachusetts
Ranked by graduate earnings
Bridgewater State University, Boston University and Springfield College award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees and certificates in Massachusetts: 175, 141 and 61 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 29 Massachusetts colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development and award 1,117 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focused on subject areas, prepares individuals for careers in education by providing essential training and knowledge in various teaching disciplines. This program is…
Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Massachusetts College of Art and Design Boston Public · Bachelor's degree | $39,251 | 27 | 69% | — | $27,000 |
| 2 | Bridgewater State University Bridgewater Public · Bachelor's degree | $38,216 | 175 | 53% | — | $27,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Massachusetts
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bridgewater State University Bridgewater Public | 175 | $38,216 |
| 2 | Boston University Boston Private not-for-profit | 141 | Not reported |
| 3 | Springfield College Springfield Private not-for-profit | 61 | Not reported |
| 4 | Salem State University Salem Public | 56 | Not reported |
| 5 | Lesley University Cambridge Private not-for-profit | 50 | Not reported |
| 6 | MGH Institute of Health Professions Boston Private not-for-profit | 50 | Not reported |
| 7 | Emerson College Boston Private not-for-profit | 47 | Not reported |
| 8 | American International College Springfield Private not-for-profit | 44 | Not reported |
| 9 | Merrimack College North Andover Private not-for-profit | 41 | Not reported |
| 10 | Fitchburg State University Fitchburg Public | 33 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 19 Massachusetts colleges offering Teacher Education and Professional Development
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cambridge College | Boston | Private not-for-profit | 99 |
| Longy School of Music of Bard College (Graduate only) | Cambridge | Private not-for-profit | 66 |
| Gordon College | Wenham | Private not-for-profit | 32 |
| Massachusetts College of Art and Design | Boston | Public | 27 |
| Berklee College of Music | Boston | Private not-for-profit | 26 |
| Boston College | Chestnut Hill | Private not-for-profit | 22 |
| Mount Holyoke College | South Hadley | Private not-for-profit | 21 |
| University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth | North Dartmouth | Public | 20 |
| Endicott College | Beverly | Private not-for-profit | 19 |
| Worcester State University | Worcester | Public | 19 |
| Framingham State University | Framingham | Public | 17 |
| University of Massachusetts-Lowell | Lowell | Public | 17 |
| Westfield State University | Westfield | Public | 9 |
| Harvard University | Cambridge | Private not-for-profit | 7 |
| University of Massachusetts-Amherst | Amherst | Public | 6 |
| Western New England University | Springfield | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
| Montserrat College of Art | Beverly | Private not-for-profit | 4 |
| Brandeis University | Waltham | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Anna Maria College | Paxton | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education (SOC 25-2021).
Top skills
What Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Massachusetts
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Massachusetts.
Which Massachusetts colleges award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees?+
Bridgewater State University (175 graduates a year), Boston University (141 graduates a year) and Springfield College (61 graduates a year) award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees and certificates in Massachusetts, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 29 Massachusetts colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development.
Which Teacher Education and Professional Development program in Massachusetts has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Massachusetts College of Art and Design tops the list at $39,251. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Massachusetts?+
The average annual wage for Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education in Massachusetts is $88,720 (median $94,000), across about 29,930 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Teacher Education and Professional Development program?+
The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focused on subject areas, prepares individuals for careers in education by providing essential training and knowledge in various teaching disciplines. This program is…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop learning strategies, speaking, critical thinking, active listening, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education?+
The national job outlook is about -2.0% growth with around 91,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card