Best colleges for Literature in Massachusetts
Ranked by graduates a year
Simmons University, Harvard University and Hellenic College - Holy Cross Greek Orthodox School of Theology award the most Literature degrees and certificates in Massachusetts: 6, 4 and 2 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 3 Massachusetts colleges offer Literature and award 12 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Literature program focuses on the study of literary works and cultural expressions across various languages and cultures. It encompasses a wide range of specializations, including General Literature, American Literature, English…
3 institutions offering Literature in Massachusetts
Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Simmons University Boston Private not-for-profit | — | 6 | 72% | $24,848 | — |
| 2 | Harvard University Cambridge Private not-for-profit | — | 4 | 98% | $15,013 | — |
| 3 | Hellenic College - Holy Cross Greek Orthodox School of Theology Brookline Private not-for-profit | — | 2 | 44% | $14,334 | — |
Colleges awarding the most Literature degrees in Massachusetts
Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Simmons University Boston Private not-for-profit | 6 | Not reported |
| 2 | Harvard University Cambridge Private not-for-profit | 4 | Not reported |
| 3 | Hellenic College - Holy Cross Greek Orthodox School of Theology Brookline Private not-for-profit | 2 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Editors (SOC 27-3041).
Top skills
What Editors earn in Massachusetts
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Literature programs in Massachusetts.
Which Massachusetts colleges award the most Literature degrees?+
Simmons University (6 graduates a year), Harvard University (4 graduates a year) and Hellenic College - Holy Cross Greek Orthodox School of Theology (2 graduates a year) award the most Literature degrees and certificates in Massachusetts, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 3 Massachusetts colleges offer Literature.
How much do Editors earn in Massachusetts?+
The average annual wage for Editors in Massachusetts is $89,740 (median $83,170), across about 3,100 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Literature program?+
The Literature program focuses on the study of literary works and cultural expressions across various languages and cultures. It encompasses a wide range of specializations, including General Literature, American Literature, English…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, writing, critical thinking, active listening, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Editors?+
The national job outlook is about +0.6% growth with around 9,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card