Massachusetts · Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Best colleges for Biological and Biomedical Sciences in Massachusetts

Ranked by graduates a year

Boston University, Springfield College and Harvard University award the most Biological and Biomedical Sciences degrees and certificates in Massachusetts: 163, 12 and 9 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 5 Massachusetts colleges offer Biological and Biomedical Sciences and award 200 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Biological and Biomedical Sciences program focuses on the application of biological principles and engineering tools to develop practical solutions in various fields. This interdisciplinary program is ideal for students interested in…

Institutions
5
offering CIP 26.99
States offered
38
with a program page
Degrees / yr
200
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,956
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
74%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Biological Scientists, All Other
$122,930
BLS OEWS May 2025

5 institutions offering Biological and Biomedical Sciences in Massachusetts

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Boston University
Boston Private not-for-profit
—16389%$21,956—
2Springfield College
Springfield Private not-for-profit
—1274%$26,290$27,000
3Harvard University
Cambridge Private not-for-profit
—998%$15,013—
4Massachusetts Bay Community College
Wellesley Hills Public
—917%——
5Northeastern University
Boston Private not-for-profit
—791%$18,925—

Colleges awarding the most Biological and Biomedical Sciences degrees in Massachusetts

Top 4 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Boston University
Boston Private not-for-profit
163Not reported
2Springfield College
Springfield Private not-for-profit
12Not reported
3Harvard University
Cambridge Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
4Northeastern University
Boston Private not-for-profit
7Not reported
Show the other 1 Massachusetts colleges offering Biological and Biomedical Sciences
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Massachusetts Bay Community CollegeWellesley HillsPublic9

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Biological Scientists, All Other (SOC 19-1029).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.2%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~4,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$93,330
typically Bachelor's degree

What Biological Scientists, All Other earn in Massachusetts

Jobs in Massachusetts
2,930
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$122,930
median $107,100
Best-paying metro
$124,120
Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH

Related careers

Biological Scientists, All Other
$122,930 avg · 2,930 jobs
Biological Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$134,120 avg · 2,060 jobs
Life Scientists, All Other
$131,800 avg · 100 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Biological and Biomedical Sciences programs in Massachusetts.

Which Massachusetts colleges award the most Biological and Biomedical Sciences degrees?+

Boston University (163 graduates a year), Springfield College (12 graduates a year) and Harvard University (9 graduates a year) award the most Biological and Biomedical Sciences degrees and certificates in Massachusetts, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 5 Massachusetts colleges offer Biological and Biomedical Sciences.

How much do Biological Scientists, All Other earn in Massachusetts?+

The average annual wage for Biological Scientists, All Other in Massachusetts is $122,930 (median $107,100), across about 2,930 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Biological and Biomedical Sciences program?+

The Biological and Biomedical Sciences program focuses on the application of biological principles and engineering tools to develop practical solutions in various fields. This interdisciplinary program is ideal for students interested in…

What is the job outlook for Biological Scientists, All Other?+

The national job outlook is about +1.2% growth with around 4,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Biological and Biomedical Sciences in other statesNew YorkIndianaPennsylvaniaIllinoisNew HampshirePuerto RicoAlabamaArkansas

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card