Massachusetts · Behavioral Sciences

Best colleges for Behavioral Sciences in Massachusetts

Ranked by graduates a year

Harvard University, Endicott College and Fitchburg State University award the most Behavioral Sciences degrees and certificates in Massachusetts: 94, 89 and 19 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 4 Massachusetts colleges offer Behavioral Sciences and award 218 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Behavioral Sciences program focuses on understanding and analyzing human behavior through an interdisciplinary approach. It encompasses various fields such as psychology, cognitive science, neuroscience, and social science, making it…

Institutions
4
offering CIP 30.17
States offered
40
with a program page
Degrees / yr
218
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$34,195
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
74%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Social Science Research Assistants
$63,310
BLS OEWS May 2025

4 institutions offering Behavioral Sciences in Massachusetts

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Harvard University
Cambridge Private not-for-profit
—9498%$15,013—
2Endicott College
Beverly Private not-for-profit
—8976%$34,195—
3Fitchburg State University
Fitchburg Public
—1955%——
4University of Massachusetts-Lowell
Lowell Public
—1665%——

Colleges awarding the most Behavioral Sciences degrees in Massachusetts

Top 4 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Harvard University
Cambridge Private not-for-profit
94Not reported
2Endicott College
Beverly Private not-for-profit
89Not reported
3Fitchburg State University
Fitchburg Public
19Not reported
4University of Massachusetts-Lowell
Lowell Public
16Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Social Science Research Assistants (SOC 19-4061).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.4%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~5,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$58,040
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionActive ListeningWritingCritical ThinkingSpeakingScience

What Social Science Research Assistants earn in Massachusetts

Jobs in Massachusetts
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$63,310
median $63,480
Best-paying metro
$63,620
Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH

Related careers

Social and Community Service Managers
$90,020 avg · 8,800 jobs
Psychology Teachers, Postsecondary
$96,600 avg · 2,640 jobs
Community and Social Service Specialists, All Other
$60,060 avg · 1,480 jobs
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All Other
$118,840 avg · 820 jobs
Psychologists, All Other
$120,730 avg · 500 jobs
Life Scientists, All Other
$131,800 avg · 100 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Behavioral Sciences programs in Massachusetts.

Which Massachusetts colleges award the most Behavioral Sciences degrees?+

Harvard University (94 graduates a year), Endicott College (89 graduates a year) and Fitchburg State University (19 graduates a year) award the most Behavioral Sciences degrees and certificates in Massachusetts, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 4 Massachusetts colleges offer Behavioral Sciences.

How much do Social Science Research Assistants earn in Massachusetts?+

The average annual wage for Social Science Research Assistants in Massachusetts is $63,310 (median $63,480). Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Behavioral Sciences program?+

The Behavioral Sciences program focuses on understanding and analyzing human behavior through an interdisciplinary approach. It encompasses various fields such as psychology, cognitive science, neuroscience, and social science, making it…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, writing, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Social Science Research Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +4.4% growth with around 5,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card