Maryland · Liberal Arts and Sciences

Best colleges for Liberal Arts and Sciences in Maryland

Ranked by graduate earnings

Notre Dame of Maryland University, Morgan State University and Salisbury University are the top bachelor's Liberal Arts and Sciences programs in Maryland by graduate earnings. Notre Dame of Maryland University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $48,819, College Scorecard. St. John's College, Morgan State University and Cecil College award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in Maryland: 157, 98 and 91 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 31 Maryland colleges offer Liberal Arts and Sciences and award 9,860 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Liberal Arts and Sciences program, formally known as Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, offers a broad educational foundation in various disciplines. This program is designed for students seeking a well-rounded…

Institutions
31
offering CIP 24.01
States & territories
59
with a program page
Degrees / yr
9,860
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$32,889
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
21
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,244
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
45%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Postsecondary Teachers, All Other
$102,710
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 5 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Notre Dame of Maryland University
Baltimore Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$48,8195150%$24,333$28,000
2Morgan State University
Baltimore Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,6999841%—$32,512
3Salisbury University
Salisbury Public · Bachelor's degree
$38,4784268%—$25,000
4Frostburg State University
Frostburg Public · Bachelor's degree
$32,8893350%—$28,750
5St. John's College
Annapolis Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$25,30715771%$25,276$27,000

Top 10 certificate and associate programs

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1College of Southern Maryland
La Plata Public · Associate degree
$29,8621,51833%—$10,650
2Chesapeake College
Wye Mills Public · Certificate
$29,6118735%—$5,500
3Allegany College of Maryland
Cumberland Public · Associate degree
$27,63710240%—$15,000
4Harford Community College
Bel Air Public · Associate degree
$26,44837339%—$10,227
5Anne Arundel Community College
Arnold Public · Associate degree
$25,82647231%—$9,500
6Hagerstown Community College
Hagerstown Public · Associate degree
$25,17724239%—$11,548
7Carroll Community College
Westminster Public · Associate degree
$23,32021939%—$8,750
8Frederick Community College
Frederick Public · Associate degree
$22,06721737%—$8,935
9Montgomery College
Rockville Public · Associate degree
$20,2171,03532%—$9,500
10Garrett College
McHenry Public · Associate degree
$13,9434334%—$13,352

Colleges awarding the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in Maryland

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1St. John's College
Annapolis Private not-for-profit
157$25,307
2Morgan State University
Baltimore Public
98$39,699
3Cecil College
North East Public
91Not reported
4Notre Dame of Maryland University
Baltimore Private not-for-profit
51$48,819
5Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore Private not-for-profit
47Not reported
6Salisbury University
Salisbury Public
42$38,478
7Frostburg State University
Frostburg Public
33$32,889
8Towson University
Towson Public
10Not reported
9Hood College
Frederick Private not-for-profit
8Not reported
10University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Baltimore Public
7Not reported
Show the other 21 Maryland colleges offering Liberal Arts and Sciences
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
University of Maryland Global Campus (Online)AdelphiPublic3,039
College of Southern MarylandLa PlataPublic1,518
Montgomery CollegeRockvillePublic1,035
Howard Community CollegeColumbiaPublic738
Community College of Baltimore CountyBaltimorePublic593
Anne Arundel Community CollegeArnoldPublic472
Prince George's Community CollegeLargoPublic406
Harford Community CollegeBel AirPublic373
Hagerstown Community CollegeHagerstownPublic242
Carroll Community CollegeWestminsterPublic219
Frederick Community CollegeFrederickPublic217
Wor-Wic Community CollegeSalisburyPublic113
Allegany College of MarylandCumberlandPublic102
Chesapeake CollegeWye MillsPublic87
Baltimore City Community CollegeBaltimorePublic72
Garrett CollegeMcHenryPublic43
Coppin State UniversityBaltimorePublic28
Washington Adventist UniversityTakoma ParkPrivate not-for-profit8
United States Naval AcademyAnnapolisPublic5
Washington CollegeChestertownPrivate not-for-profit4
McDaniel CollegeWestminsterPrivate not-for-profit2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Postsecondary Teachers, All Other (SOC 25-1199).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.8%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~13,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$78,490
typically Doctoral or professional degree

What Postsecondary Teachers, All Other earn in Maryland

Jobs in Maryland
4,840
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$102,710
median $82,850
Best-paying metro
$107,570
Baltimore-Columbia-Towson, MD

Related careers

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Liberal Arts and Sciences programs in Maryland.

Which Maryland colleges award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees?+

St. John's College (157 graduates a year), Morgan State University (98 graduates a year) and Cecil College (91 graduates a year) award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in Maryland, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 31 Maryland colleges offer Liberal Arts and Sciences.

What is the best college for Liberal Arts and Sciences in Maryland?+

By graduate earnings, Notre Dame of Maryland University leads among bachelor's Liberal Arts and Sciences programs in Maryland, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $48,819, College Scorecard. Morgan State University and Salisbury University follow. By degrees awarded, St. John's College is the largest, with 157 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Liberal Arts and Sciences program in Maryland has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Notre Dame of Maryland University tops the list at $48,819. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Postsecondary Teachers, All Other earn in Maryland?+

The average annual wage for Postsecondary Teachers, All Other in Maryland is $102,710 (median $82,850), across about 4,840 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Liberal Arts and Sciences program?+

The Liberal Arts and Sciences program, formally known as Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, offers a broad educational foundation in various disciplines. This program is designed for students seeking a well-rounded…

What is the job outlook for Postsecondary Teachers, All Other?+

The national job outlook is about +1.8% growth with around 13,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card