Louisiana · Fine and Studio Arts

Best colleges for Fine and Studio Arts in Louisiana

Ranked by graduate earnings

McNeese State University, Southeastern Louisiana University and Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College are the top bachelor's Fine and Studio Arts programs in Louisiana by graduate earnings. McNeese State University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $31,226, College Scorecard. Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College, Southeastern Louisiana University and University of Louisiana at Lafayette award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Louisiana: 122, 47 and 43 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 15 Louisiana colleges offer Fine and Studio Arts and award 356 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Fine and Studio Arts program focuses on the practice and theory of visual arts and design, encompassing various disciplines such as illustration, painting, sculpture, and graphic design. This program is ideal for students who are…

Institutions
15
offering CIP 50.07
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
356
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$23,405
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
5
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,906
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
54%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators
$50,180
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 5 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1McNeese State University
Lake Charles Public · Bachelor's degree
$31,2262447%—$23,615
2Southeastern Louisiana University
Hammond Public · Bachelor's degree
$23,4054745%—$24,250
3Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College
Baton Rouge Public · Bachelor's degree
$23,34812269%—$21,500
4University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Lafayette Public · Bachelor's degree
$23,1504353%—$26,000
5Nicholls State University
Thibodaux Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$33,8771254%—$20,966

Colleges awarding the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Louisiana

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College
Baton Rouge Public
122$23,348
2Southeastern Louisiana University
Hammond Public
47$23,405
3University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Lafayette Public
43$23,150
4University of New Orleans
New Orleans Public
30Not reported
5McNeese State University
Lake Charles Public
24$31,226
6Tulane University of Louisiana
New Orleans Private not-for-profit
23Not reported
7Northwestern State University of Louisiana
Natchitoches Public
18Not reported
8University of Louisiana at Monroe
Monroe Public
16Not reported
9Nicholls State University
Thibodaux Public
12$33,877
10Louisiana Tech University
Ruston Public
10Not reported
Show the other 5 Louisiana colleges offering Fine and Studio Arts
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Centenary College of LouisianaShreveportPrivate not-for-profit3
Xavier University of LouisianaNew OrleansPrivate not-for-profit3
Dillard UniversityNew OrleansPrivate not-for-profit2
Loyola University New OrleansNew OrleansPrivate not-for-profit2
Louisiana Christian UniversityPinevillePrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators (SOC 27-1013).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-1.2%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~2,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$60,560
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive LearningActive ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionWriting

What Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators earn in Louisiana

Jobs in Louisiana
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$50,180
median $40,700
Best-paying metro
$54,660
Shreveport-Bossier City, LA

Related careers

Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary
$92,510 avg · 720 jobs
Photographers
$43,530 avg · 510 jobs
Jewelers and Precious Stone and Metal Workers
$51,390 avg · 280 jobs
Museum Technicians and Conservators
$37,430 avg · 200 jobs
Art Directors
$98,270 avg · 160 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Fine and Studio Arts programs in Louisiana.

Which Louisiana colleges award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees?+

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College (122 graduates a year), Southeastern Louisiana University (47 graduates a year) and University of Louisiana at Lafayette (43 graduates a year) award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Louisiana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 15 Louisiana colleges offer Fine and Studio Arts.

What is the best college for Fine and Studio Arts in Louisiana?+

By graduate earnings, McNeese State University leads among bachelor's Fine and Studio Arts programs in Louisiana, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $31,226, College Scorecard. Southeastern Louisiana University and Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College follow. By degrees awarded, Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College is the largest, with 122 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Fine and Studio Arts program in Louisiana has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, McNeese State University tops the list at $31,226. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators earn in Louisiana?+

The average annual wage for Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators in Louisiana is $50,180 (median $40,700). Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Fine and Studio Arts program?+

The Fine and Studio Arts program focuses on the practice and theory of visual arts and design, encompassing various disciplines such as illustration, painting, sculpture, and graphic design. This program is ideal for students who are…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active learning, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators?+

The national job outlook is about -1.2% growth with around 2,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card