Kansas · Geography and Environmental Studies

Best colleges for Geography and Environmental Studies in Kansas

Ranked by graduates a year

University of Kansas and Kansas State University award the most Geography and Environmental Studies degrees and certificates in Kansas: 32 and 3 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 2 Kansas colleges offer Geography and Environmental Studies and award 35 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Geography and Environmental Studies program is a multidisciplinary field that explores the intricate relationship between humans and the environment. This program is designed for students interested in understanding complex…

Institutions
2
offering CIP 30.44
States offered
37
with a program page
Degrees / yr
35
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
70%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Geographers
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

2 institutions offering Geography and Environmental Studies in Kansas

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Kansas
Lawrence Public
—3269%——
2Kansas State University
Manhattan Public
—371%——

Colleges awarding the most Geography and Environmental Studies degrees in Kansas

Top 2 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Kansas
Lawrence Public
32Not reported
2Kansas State University
Manhattan Public
3Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Geographers (SOC 19-3092).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-3.1%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$97,200
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

WritingReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingSpeakingActive ListeningActive Learning

What Geographers earn in Kansas

Jobs in Kansas
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Environmental Scientists and Specialists, Including Health
$87,500 avg · 590 jobs
Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including Health
$51,440 avg · 340 jobs
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All Other
$90,870 avg · 310 jobs
Conservation Scientists
$72,850 avg · 220 jobs
Environmental Science Teachers, Postsecondary
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Geography and Environmental Studies programs in Kansas.

Which Kansas colleges award the most Geography and Environmental Studies degrees?+

University of Kansas (32 graduates a year) and Kansas State University (3 graduates a year) award the most Geography and Environmental Studies degrees and certificates in Kansas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 2 Kansas colleges offer Geography and Environmental Studies.

What is the focus of the Geography and Environmental Studies program?+

The Geography and Environmental Studies program is a multidisciplinary field that explores the intricate relationship between humans and the environment. This program is designed for students interested in understanding complex…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop writing, reading comprehension, critical thinking, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Geographers?+

The national job outlook is about -3.1% growth with around 100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card