Iowa · Student Counseling and Personnel Services

Best colleges for Student Counseling and Personnel Services in Iowa

Ranked by graduates a year

Buena Vista University, Drake University and University of Northern Iowa award the most Student Counseling and Personnel Services degrees and certificates in Iowa: 47, 32 and 29 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 7 Iowa colleges offer Student Counseling and Personnel Services and award 134 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Student Counseling and Personnel Services program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to support and enhance student success in higher education. This program is ideal for individuals interested in becoming student…

Institutions
7
offering CIP 13.11
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
134
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,840
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
67%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors
$58,190
BLS OEWS May 2025

7 institutions offering Student Counseling and Personnel Services in Iowa

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Buena Vista University
Storm Lake Private not-for-profit
—4762%$17,609—
2Drake University
Des Moines Private not-for-profit
—3274%$28,855—
3University of Northern Iowa
Cedar Falls Public
—2968%——
4University of Iowa
Iowa City Public
—1475%——
5Loras College
Dubuque Private not-for-profit
—568%$19,227—
6Northwestern College
Orange City Private not-for-profit
—566%$22,419—
7Grand View University
Des Moines Private not-for-profit
—254%$20,840—

Colleges awarding the most Student Counseling and Personnel Services degrees in Iowa

Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Buena Vista University
Storm Lake Private not-for-profit
47Not reported
2Drake University
Des Moines Private not-for-profit
32Not reported
3University of Northern Iowa
Cedar Falls Public
29Not reported
4University of Iowa
Iowa City Public
14Not reported
5Loras College
Dubuque Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
6Northwestern College
Orange City Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
7Grand View University
Des Moines Private not-for-profit
2Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors (SOC 21-1012).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.5%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~31,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$65,140
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingCritical ThinkingWritingReading ComprehensionMonitoring

What Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors earn in Iowa

Jobs in Iowa
3,690
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$58,190
median $56,540
Best-paying metro
$62,030
Iowa City, IA

Related careers

Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors
$58,190 avg · 3,690 jobs
Residential Advisors
$39,960 avg · 780 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Student Counseling and Personnel Services programs in Iowa.

Which Iowa colleges award the most Student Counseling and Personnel Services degrees?+

Buena Vista University (47 graduates a year), Drake University (32 graduates a year) and University of Northern Iowa (29 graduates a year) award the most Student Counseling and Personnel Services degrees and certificates in Iowa, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 7 Iowa colleges offer Student Counseling and Personnel Services.

How much do Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors earn in Iowa?+

The average annual wage for Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors in Iowa is $58,190 (median $56,540), across about 3,690 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Student Counseling and Personnel Services program?+

The Student Counseling and Personnel Services program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to support and enhance student success in higher education. This program is ideal for individuals interested in becoming student…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, critical thinking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors?+

The national job outlook is about +3.5% growth with around 31,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Student Counseling and Personnel Services in other statesMassachusettsAlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaMinnesotaColorado

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card