Private (for-profit)

West Coast University - Ontario

Ontario, California·Private for-profit, 4-year or above·Far West·westcoastuniversity.edu

West Coast University-Ontario's acceptance rate is 88.1% (2018). Its six-year graduation rate is 39% and its four-year rate is 39% (2024). Tuition and fees are $36,854 (2024). Fall enrollment is 2,671 students, and 3,616 enrolled over the full 12-month year (2024). Source: IPEDS.

Acceptance
88.1%
+5.5pp vs peer
6-yr graduation
39%
-11.0pp vs peer
Total enrollment
2,671
peer median 927
Avg net price
$49,590
+$21k vs peer
Use this data
Ask Clema

About

West Coast University (WCU) is a private, for-profit university focused on healthcare degrees with campus locations in Los Angeles, Anaheim, and Ontario, California; Richardson, Texas; and Miami, Florida. David Pyle founded American Career College in 1979 under the name of American College of Optics. Originally the school focused only on optical dispensing. In May 1997, Pyle purchased West Coast University, which was chartered by the State of California in 1909, out of bankruptcy, and developed a program for the training of registered nurses.

Admissions & acceptance rate

First-time freshman admissions: how selective the college is, and how many admitted students choose to enroll.

Applied
42
42 candidates competed
Admitted
37
88.1% acceptance rate
Enrolled
21
56.8% yield

Graduation rate & outcomes

Completion, retention, and the equity gap between Pell and non-Pell students.

Overall completion
39%
4-year graduation
39%
6-year graduation (bachelor’s)
39%-11.0pp vs peer
Full-time retention
89%

Pell equity

8.7pp gap
Pell recipients
42%5 of 12
Non-Pell (all)
33%2 of 6
Subsidized loan, no Pell
40%2 of 5
No Federal Aid
0%0 of 1

Pell recipients here graduate at a 8.7-point higher rate than non-Pell students, unusual and worth a closer look.

Source: IPEDS Graduation Rates (GR) — Pell/SSL cohort, 2024 cohort.

Tuition & cost

What families actually pay, broken down by family income.

Net price by family income

Aid exceeds costFamily pays
$0–30k$45,911
$30–48k$46,861
$48–75k$50,048
$75–110k$53,706
$110k+—

Negative values mean aid exceeds the published cost of attendance for that income band.

Avg net price (private)
$49,590
+$21,466vs peer median $28,124
Federal loans
87.2%
Tuition and fees
$36,854

Student loan default rate

The share of student borrowers who default on federal loans within three years, against the national benchmark.

Of 3,179 borrowers who entered repayment, 4 (0.1%) defaulted within three years — below the 2.3% national rate.

Default rate
0.1%
-2.2pp vs 2.3% national
Borrowers in repayment
3,179
Defaulted
4
Measurement window
3 years
Federal CDR standard

Default rate vs national, by cohort

2016
2.6%
2017
1.6%
2018
0.5%
2019
0.1%
2020*
0.0%
This institutionNational rate

* Cohorts 2020 and later read near 0% because the federal COVID-19 payment pause (CARES Act) suspended defaults nationwide. These years reflect a national policy, not institutional performance; the 2019 cohort is the last measured under normal repayment.

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

Academic programs at West Coast University-Ontario

Top program areas ranked by completions.

Distinct CIP programs1
UndergraduateOffered

Top program families by completions

994 total completions
01Health Professions
994100.0%

Enrollment trends & demographics

Fall headcount, 12-month unduplicated enrollment, and student body composition.

Fall total
2,671
12-mo unduplicated
3,616
Undergraduate
3,616
Graduate
0

Gender split

Men
24%851
Women
76%2,765

Race / ethnicity composition

Hispanic
52.8%
Asian
22.6%
White
12.0%
Two or more
6.6%
Black
4.3%
Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander
0.9%
Unknown
0.4%
Non-resident
0.1%
American Indian / Alaska Native
0.1%

Campus safety & crime statistics

Reported on-campus crimes over the last three years, including violence and hate crimes.

Criminal offenses · per 1,000 students
0.00
0 offenses · 2,647 students

3-year trend

0.002 yrs ago0.781 yr ago0.00Latest
Offenses · 3-yr
2
Last three years
VAWA · 3-yr
2
DV, dating, stalking
Hate crimes · 3-yr
0
Res-hall fires · 3-yr
0

Criminal offenses by type

No criminal offenses reported.

By location

0total

    VAWA offenses

    1
    Domestic violence
    0
    Dating violence
    1
    Stalking
    2 total under the Violence Against Women Act.

    Hate crimes by bias

    No hate crimes reported.

    Arrests vs disciplinary referrals

    CategoryArrestsReferrals
    Weapons00
    Drugs00
    Liquor00

    Residence-hall fires

    No residence-hall fires reported.

    Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

    Student-faculty ratio

    Student-to-faculty ratio and instructional staff counts.

    Student-to-faculty
    19.0:1
    Instructional staff (full-time equivalent)
    63

    West Coast University-Ontario vs Peer comparison

    The peer institutions West Coast University-Ontario selected for federal comparison reporting.

    6-yr gradRetentionSelectivityEnrollmentAffordabilityYield
    This institutionPeer median

    A larger shape on any axis means this institution outperforms its peers on that dimension. For acceptance rate and net price, lower raw values are inverted so "more selective" and "more affordable" appear larger.

    Carnegie
    SubjectWest Coast University-Ontario
    39%88.1%2,671$49,590—
    AdventHealth University
    37%33.7%1,861$30,135—
    Allen College
    No freshman cohortNo freshman entry483$31,509—
    Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing
    No freshman cohortNo freshman entry539No freshman cohort—
    Bellin College
    63%97.2%927$37,408—
    Blessing Rieman College of Nursing and Health Sciences
    No freshman cohortNo freshman entry193No freshman cohort—
    Bryan College of Health Sciences
    63%67.4%765$26,919—
    Chamberlain University-Arizona
    50%90.9%693$40,096—
    Chamberlain University-Illinois
    42%82.6%32,944$31,837—
    Chamberlain University-Ohio
    29%87.5%257$31,544—
    Clarkson College
    36%78.2%1,121$19,241—
    Cox College
    100%100.0%724$28,124—
    D'Youville University
    67%81.4%2,556$20,433Doctoral/Professional
    Loma Linda University
    No freshman cohortNo freshman entry4,210No freshman cohortR2 Research
    MGH Institute of Health Professions
    No freshman cohortNo freshman entry1,672No freshman cohort—
    Mount Carmel College of Nursing
    54%84.3%670$10,420—
    Nebraska Methodist College of Nursing & Allied Health
    49%73.4%1,067$21,863—
    Regis College
    71%69.8%2,517$27,477Masters Colleges & Universities: Larger Programs
    Saint Anthony College of Nursing
    Not reportedNot reported263$21,045—
    Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing
    No freshman cohortNo freshman entry605No freshman cohort—
    Samuel Merritt University
    No freshman cohortNo freshman entry1,926No freshman cohort—
    Peer group median50%82.6%927$28,124

    Institutions like West Coast University-Ontario

    Explore the federal data for institutions in West Coast University-Ontario's comparison group.

    • Florida

      AdventHealth University

      Grad rate
      37%
      Admit rate
      33.7%
      Enrollment
      1,861
      Net price
      $30,135
    • Iowa

      Allen College

      Grad rate
      No freshman cohort
      Admit rate
      No freshman entry
      Enrollment
      483
      Net price
      $31,509
    • Missouri

      Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing

      Grad rate
      No freshman cohort
      Admit rate
      No freshman entry
      Enrollment
      539
      Net price
      No freshman cohort
    • Wisconsin

      Bellin College

      Grad rate
      63%
      Admit rate
      97.2%
      Enrollment
      927
      Net price
      $37,408
    • Illinois

      Blessing Rieman College of Nursing and Health Sciences

      Grad rate
      No freshman cohort
      Admit rate
      No freshman entry
      Enrollment
      193
      Net price
      No freshman cohort
    • Nebraska

      Bryan College of Health Sciences

      Grad rate
      63%
      Admit rate
      67.4%
      Enrollment
      765
      Net price
      $26,919
    • Arizona

      Chamberlain University-Arizona

      Grad rate
      50%
      Admit rate
      90.9%
      Enrollment
      693
      Net price
      $40,096
    • Illinois

      Chamberlain University-Illinois

      Grad rate
      42%
      Admit rate
      82.6%
      Enrollment
      32,944
      Net price
      $31,837
    • Ohio

      Chamberlain University-Ohio

      Grad rate
      29%
      Admit rate
      87.5%
      Enrollment
      257
      Net price
      $31,544
    • Nebraska

      Clarkson College

      Grad rate
      36%
      Admit rate
      78.2%
      Enrollment
      1,121
      Net price
      $19,241
    • Missouri

      Cox College

      Grad rate
      100%
      Admit rate
      100.0%
      Enrollment
      724
      Net price
      $28,124
    • Doctoral/ProfessionalNew York

      D'Youville University

      Grad rate
      67%
      Admit rate
      81.4%
      Enrollment
      2,556
      Net price
      $20,433
    • R2 ResearchCalifornia

      Loma Linda University

      Grad rate
      No freshman cohort
      Admit rate
      No freshman entry
      Enrollment
      4,210
      Net price
      No freshman cohort
    • Massachusetts

      MGH Institute of Health Professions

      Grad rate
      No freshman cohort
      Admit rate
      No freshman entry
      Enrollment
      1,672
      Net price
      No freshman cohort
    • Ohio

      Mount Carmel College of Nursing

      Grad rate
      54%
      Admit rate
      84.3%
      Enrollment
      670
      Net price
      $10,420
    • Nebraska

      Nebraska Methodist College of Nursing & Allied Health

      Grad rate
      49%
      Admit rate
      73.4%
      Enrollment
      1,067
      Net price
      $21,863
    • Masters Colleges & Universities: Larger ProgramsMassachusetts

      Regis College

      Grad rate
      71%
      Admit rate
      69.8%
      Enrollment
      2,517
      Net price
      $27,477
    • Illinois

      Saint Anthony College of Nursing

      Grad rate
      Not reported
      Admit rate
      Not reported
      Enrollment
      263
      Net price
      $21,045
    • Illinois

      Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing

      Grad rate
      No freshman cohort
      Admit rate
      No freshman entry
      Enrollment
      605
      Net price
      No freshman cohort
    • California

      Samuel Merritt University

      Grad rate
      No freshman cohort
      Admit rate
      No freshman entry
      Enrollment
      1,926
      Net price
      No freshman cohort

    Campus network

    West Coast University-Ontario is a campus of a larger institution. See its main campus and the other campuses in the same network.

    West Coast University-Ontario Institutional Research office

    The IR team responsible for the institution's federal reporting.

    Office
    Phone
    866-508-2684

    The page for West Coast University-Ontario's Institutional Research section provides links to various university programs, admissions steps, tuition and financial aid resources, accreditation information, and campus details. It also lists telephone contact information and several useful links, such as annual reports, brochures, and session scheduling. The page lacks specific information about the office of institutional research itself, such as a mission statement or details about the office head.

    Visit IR office page

    Reports & documents (1)

    Dashboards, factbooks, data dictionaries, and other reference material published by the IR office.

    Frequently asked questions about West Coast University-Ontario

    Quick answers to the questions most often asked about West Coast University-Ontario.

    What is the acceptance rate at West Coast University-Ontario?

    West Coast University-Ontario's acceptance rate is 88.1% (37 admitted from 42 applicants), based on the latest IPEDS.

    What is the graduation rate at West Coast University-Ontario?

    West Coast University-Ontario's six-year graduation rate is 39% and its four-year rate is 39%, per 2024 IPEDS data.

    How many students attend West Coast University-Ontario?

    West Coast University-Ontario reports a total enrollment of 2,671 students per the latest IPEDS.

    What is the average net price at West Coast University-Ontario?

    The average net price at West Coast University-Ontario is $49,590 per the latest College Scorecard. Net price is the published cost of attendance minus grant aid.

    What is the yield rate at West Coast University-Ontario?

    West Coast University-Ontario's yield rate is 56.8%, the share of admitted students who enrolled, per the latest IPEDS.

    Where is West Coast University-Ontario located?

    West Coast University-Ontario is located in Ontario, California 91761-7698.

    About the data on this page

    Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

    IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
    Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
    College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
    Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
    FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
    Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.
    DAPIP accreditationContinuously refreshed
    Accreditation status for institutions and programs, reported by recognized accrediting agencies.
    Federal Pell Grant & loan volumeAY 2025–26 (through Q3), through March 31, 2026
    Pell Grant and Direct Loan recipient counts, award amounts, and disbursement volume by institution and award year.
    Cohort Default RatesFY 2022 official rates
    Institution-level federal student loan default rates, measuring borrowers who default within three years of entering repayment.
    Equity in Athletics (EADA)Academic year 2024–25
    Athletics participation, coaching, revenues, and expenses by sport and gender for Title IV institutions.
    Campus Safety & SecurityData through reporting year 2024
    Criminal offenses, arrests, disciplinary actions, VAWA offenses, and fire statistics reported by campus under the Clery Act.

    Have a question this page can’t answer?

    Ask Clema anything about West Coast University-Ontario and its peers — plain language in, cited answers out, in minutes instead of days.

    Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card