About
The Wright Institute is a graduate school located in Berkeley, California, founded in 1968. It focuses on clinical psychology and counseling, offering a Doctor of Psychology (PsyD) and a Master of Arts (MA) in Counseling Psychology, with an emphasis on understanding social issues and lifelong learning.
Program outcomes
Federal Program Performance Data: how each program's graduate earnings and debt measure up under Financial Value Transparency and Gainful Employment.
Of 2 Title IV programs, 2 pass the federal Gainful Employment test and 0 fail.
Pass / fail distribution
- Passing2 · 100.0%
- No Data0 · 0.0%
- Failing0 · 0.0%
Severity spectrum
Tiers band programs by how far graduate earnings sit above or below the benchmark, from Critical (below −15%) through Safe (above +25%). No data means earnings were privacy-suppressed.
Earnings premium gap
Graduate earnings versus the federal benchmark, worst gaps first.
Debt vs earnings
Median completer debt against median graduate earnings, highest burden first.
Accreditation status & history
Who accredits the institution, current standing, and any past actions.
WASC Senior College and University Commission
WASC Senior College and University Commission
Programmatic accreditations · 2
Action history · 4
- Dec 2022Renewal of AccreditationAmerican Psychological Association, Commission on Accreditation · Professional Psychology (IPSY) - Predoctoral internship programs
- Jun 2019Renewal of AccreditationWASC Senior College and University Commission
- Apr 2018Renewal of AccreditationAmerican Psychological Association, Commission on Accreditation · Clinical Psychology (CLPSYD) - PsyD Doctoral programs
- Oct 2017Renewal of AccreditationAmerican Psychological Association, Commission on Accreditation · Professional Psychology (IPSY) - Predoctoral internship programs
Federal aid volume & trends
Pell grants and federal Direct Loan volume disbursed to students, and how they've trended.
In AY 2024–25, students received in Pell grants, alongside $13.2M in federal Direct Loans.
Pell recipients · 5-year trend
Loan volume by type · AY 2024–25
Loan awards count each loan type a student holds, not unique borrowers; one student may carry several (e.g. subsidized and unsubsidized), so the per-type figures are the reliable detail.
Student loan default rate
The share of student borrowers who default on federal loans within three years, against the national benchmark.
Of 106 borrowers who entered repayment, 0 (0.0%) defaulted within three years — below the 2.3% national rate.
Default rate vs national, by cohort
* Cohorts 2020 and later read near 0% because the federal COVID-19 payment pause (CARES Act) suspended defaults nationwide. These years reflect a national policy, not institutional performance; the 2019 cohort is the last measured under normal repayment.
Academic programs at Wright Institute
Top program areas ranked by completions.
Top program families by completions
Enrollment trends & demographics
Fall headcount, 12-month unduplicated enrollment, and student body composition.
Gender split
Campus safety & crime statistics
Reported on-campus crimes over the last three years, including violence and hate crimes.
3-year trend
Criminal offenses by type
By location
- Non-campus1
VAWA offenses
Hate crimes by bias
No hate crimes reported.
Arrests vs disciplinary referrals
Residence-hall fires
Wright Institute vs Peer comparison
The peer institutions Wright Institute selected for federal comparison reporting.
A larger shape on any axis means this institution outperforms its peers on that dimension. For acceptance rate and net price, lower raw values are inverted so "more selective" and "more affordable" appear larger.
| Carnegie | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
SubjectThe Wright Institute | Grad-only | Grad-only | 518 | Grad-only | — |
| No freshman cohort | No freshman entry | 1,631 | No freshman cohort | — | |
| No freshman cohort | No freshman entry | 1,874 | No freshman cohort | Doctoral/Professional | |
| Grad-only | Grad-only | 833 | Grad-only | — | |
| No freshman cohort | No freshman entry | 1,065 | No freshman cohort | — | |
| Grad-only | Grad-only | 1,057 | Grad-only | Doctoral/Professional | |
| No freshman cohort | No freshman entry | 1,145 | No freshman cohort | — | |
| Not reported | 34.5% | 1,100 | No freshman cohort | — | |
| 0% | 46.3% | 3,344 | $39,401 | — | |
| Grad-only | Grad-only | 564 | Grad-only | — | |
| No freshman cohort | No freshman entry | 967 | No freshman cohort | — | |
| Grad-only | Grad-only | 78 | Grad-only | — | |
| Peer group median | 0% | 40.4% | 1,061 | $39,401 |
Institutions like Wright Institute
Explore the federal data for institutions in Wright Institute's comparison group.
- Illinois
Adler University
Grad rateNo freshman cohortAdmit rateNo freshman entryEnrollment1,631Net priceNo freshman cohortView data - Doctoral/ProfessionalCalifornia
California Institute of Integral Studies
Grad rateNo freshman cohortAdmit rateNo freshman entryEnrollment1,874Net priceNo freshman cohortView data - California
Pacifica Graduate Institute
Grad rateGrad-onlyAdmit rateGrad-onlyEnrollment833Net priceGrad-onlyView data - California
Palo Alto University
Grad rateNo freshman cohortAdmit rateNo freshman entryEnrollment1,065Net priceNo freshman cohortView data - Doctoral/ProfessionalCalifornia
Saybrook University
Grad rateGrad-onlyAdmit rateGrad-onlyEnrollment1,057Net priceGrad-onlyView data - California
Sofia University
Grad rateNo freshman cohortAdmit rateNo freshman entryEnrollment1,145Net priceNo freshman cohortView data - Illinois
The Chicago School at Chicago
Grad rateNot reportedAdmit rate34.5%Enrollment1,100Net priceNo freshman cohortView data - California
The Chicago School at Los Angeles
Grad rate0%Admit rate46.3%Enrollment3,344Net price$39,401View data - District of Columbia
The Chicago School at Washington DC
Grad rateGrad-onlyAdmit rateGrad-onlyEnrollment564Net priceGrad-onlyView data - Massachusetts
William James College
Grad rateNo freshman cohortAdmit rateNo freshman entryEnrollment967Net priceNo freshman cohortView data - Wisconsin
Wisconsin School of Professional Psychology
Grad rateGrad-onlyAdmit rateGrad-onlyEnrollment78Net priceGrad-onlyView data
Wright Institute Institutional Research office
The IR team responsible for the institution's federal reporting.
The page provides student achievement data for The Wright Institute's Clinical Psychology (PsyD) and Counseling Psychology (MA) programs. It includes retention, graduation rates, and average time to graduation for students. The address and contact phone number of the institute are also provided.
Visit IR office pageReports & documents (1)
Dashboards, factbooks, data dictionaries, and other reference material published by the IR office.
Frequently asked questions about The Wright Institute
Quick answers to the questions most often asked about Wright Institute.
What is the acceptance rate at The Wright Institute?
What is the graduation rate at The Wright Institute?
How many students attend The Wright Institute?
What is the average net price at The Wright Institute?
Where is The Wright Institute located?
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Have a question this page can’t answer?
Ask Clema anything about The Wright Institute and its peers — plain language in, cited answers out, in minutes instead of days.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card