Private (for-profit)

San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork

San Francisco, California·Private for-profit, less-than 2-year·Far West·sfsm.edu

San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork has open admission, so it admits all applicants who meet basic requirements (effectively a 100% acceptance rate). Fall enrollment is 139 students, and 178 enrolled over the full 12-month year (2024). Source: IPEDS.

Acceptance
100%
Open admission
Graduation (150% time)
Too new
—
Total enrollment
139
peer median 72
Avg net price
$33,402
+$14k vs peer
Use this data
Ask Clema

About

The San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork is a private institution located in San Francisco, California, founded in 1969. It offers training programs in massage therapy, including a 600-hour Massage Therapist Program, and is accredited by several professional organizations, including the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (ABHES).

Program outcomes

Federal Program Performance Data: how each program's graduate earnings and debt measure up under Financial Value Transparency and Gainful Employment.

Of 1 Title IV programs, 0 pass the federal Gainful Employment test and 0 fail. 1 have graduate earnings too small to publish, so they carry no pass/fail verdict.

Total programs
1
Passing
0
0.0% of portfolio
Failing (GE)
0
0.0% of portfolio
Fail rate
0.0%
-0.6pp vs 0.6% national

Pass / fail distribution

1programs
  • Passing0 · 0.0%
  • No Data1 · 100.0%
  • Failing0 · 0.0%

Severity spectrum

Critical
0
Severe
0
Recoverable
0
At Risk
0
Watch
0
Safe
0
No data
1

Tiers band programs by how far graduate earnings sit above or below the benchmark, from Critical (below −15%) through Safe (above +25%). No data means earnings were privacy-suppressed.

Accreditation status & history

Who accredits the institution, current standing, and any past actions.

AccreditedInstitutional accreditor

Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools

Accredited since 2015Next review Feb 2028

Action history · 2

  1. Feb 2022Renewal of Accreditation
    Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools
  2. Aug 2018Renewal of Accreditation
    Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

Tuition & cost

What families actually pay, broken down by family income.

Net price by family income

Aid exceeds costFamily pays
$0–30k$33,402
$30–48k—
$48–75k—
$75–110k—
$110k+—

Negative values mean aid exceeds the published cost of attendance for that income band.

Avg net price (private)
$33,402
+$13,673vs peer median $19,729
Federal loans
14.8%

Federal aid volume & trends

Pell grants and federal Direct Loan volume disbursed to students, and how they've trended.

In AY 2024–25, 30 students received $88K in Pell grants, alongside $95K in federal Direct Loans.

Pell recipients
30
AY 2024–25
Pell disbursed
$88K
$87,717 total
Direct Loans
$95K
34 loan awards

Pell recipients · 5-year trend

0k
’22
0k
’23
0k
’24

Loan volume by type · AY 2024–25

Subsidized$37K
18 loan awards
Unsubsidized · UG$59K
16 loan awards

Loan awards count each loan type a student holds, not unique borrowers; one student may carry several (e.g. subsidized and unsubsidized), so the per-type figures are the reliable detail.

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

Academic programs at SFSM

Top program areas ranked by completions.

Distinct CIP programs1
UndergraduateOffered

Enrollment trends & demographics

Fall headcount, 12-month unduplicated enrollment, and student body composition.

Fall total
139
12-mo unduplicated
178
Undergraduate
178
Graduate
0

Gender split

Men
34%60
Women
66%118

Race / ethnicity composition

White
34.5%
Hispanic
20.1%
Two or more
13.7%
Non-resident
13.0%
Asian
11.5%
Black
5.0%
Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander
1.4%
Unknown
0.7%

Campus safety & crime statistics

Reported on-campus crimes over the last three years, including violence and hate crimes.

Criminal offenses · per 1,000 students
0.00
0 offenses · 131 students
Offenses · 3-yr
0
Last three years
VAWA · 3-yr
0
DV, dating, stalking
Hate crimes · 3-yr
0
Res-hall fires · 3-yr
0

Criminal offenses by type

No criminal offenses reported.

By location

0total

    VAWA offenses

    0
    Domestic violence
    0
    Dating violence
    0
    Stalking
    0 total under the Violence Against Women Act.

    Hate crimes by bias

    No hate crimes reported.

    Arrests vs disciplinary referrals

    CategoryArrestsReferrals
    Weapons00
    Drugs01
    Liquor00

    Residence-hall fires

    No residence-hall fires reported.

    Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

    Student-faculty ratio

    Student-to-faculty ratio and instructional staff counts.

    Student-to-faculty
    20.0:1

    SFSM vs Peer comparison

    The peer institutions SFSM selected for federal comparison reporting.

    6-yr gradRetentionSelectivityEnrollmentAffordabilityYield
    This institutionPeer median

    A larger shape on any axis means this institution outperforms its peers on that dimension. For acceptance rate and net price, lower raw values are inverted so "more selective" and "more affordable" appear larger.

    Carnegie
    SubjectSan Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork
    Too newOpen admission139$33,402—
    American Institute of Massage Therapy
    —Open admission19$9,364—
    CALC Institute of Technology
    —Open admission83Not reported—
    Concorde Career College-Broadway
    —100.0%26$26,119—
    Cortiva Institute-Arlington
    —Open admission155$33,771—
    CTK Healthcare & Career Institute
    —Open admission114$6,260—
    Healing Arts Center
    No freshman cohortOpen admission113No freshman cohort—
    Healthcare Training Institute
    —41.7%48$10,594—
    Institute of Allied Healthcare
    —Open admission60$2,430—
    Marian Health Careers Center-Van Nuys Campus
    —Open admission90$28,791—
    Medical Allied Career Center
    —Open admission48$34,458—
    Medical Career & Technical College
    —95.7%235$28,005—
    North-West College-Glendale
    —100.0%71$35,763—
    Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage
    No freshman cohortOpen admission101$18,490—
    Ross Medical Education Center-Battle Creek
    —Open admission50$20,440—
    Ross Medical Education Center-Bowling Green
    —Open admission57$20,062—
    Ross Medical Education Center-Charleston
    —Open admission65$17,821—
    Ross Medical Education Center-Elyria
    —Open admission74$18,823—
    Ross Medical Education Center-Erlanger
    —Open admission77$19,448—
    Ross Medical Education Center-Evansville
    —Open admission91$19,540—
    Ross Medical Education Center-Kokomo
    —Open admission75$19,729—
    Ross Medical Education Center-Muncie
    —Open admission63$19,286—
    Ross Medical Education Center-Niles
    —Open admission99$17,822—
    Ross Medical Education Center-Saginaw
    —Open admission84$18,831—
    Ross Medical Education Center-Taylor
    —Open admission75$19,987—
    San Joaquin Valley College-Delano
    —Open admission69$21,573—
    Southwest School of Business and Technical Careers-San Antonio
    —Open admission21$22,633—
    St Louis College of Health Careers-St Louis
    —Not reported153$27,777Special Focus Two-Year: Health Professions
    Unitech Training Academy-Baton Rouge
    —Open admission72$21,757—
    Unitech Training Academy-Houma
    —Open admission47$19,506—
    Westchester School for Medical & Dental Assistants
    —Open admission67$16,177—
    Williams Technical College
    —Open admission28$15,577—
    Woodruff Medical and Wellness Training
    —Open admission60$21,621—
    Peer group median—97.9%72$19,729

    Institutions like SFSM

    Explore the federal data for institutions in SFSM's comparison group.

    • California

      American Institute of Massage Therapy

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      19
      Net price
      $9,364
    • Illinois

      CALC Institute of Technology

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      83
      Net price
      Not reported
    • Missouri

      Concorde Career College-Broadway

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      100.0%
      Enrollment
      26
      Net price
      $26,119
    • Texas

      Cortiva Institute-Arlington

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      155
      Net price
      $33,771
    • Texas

      CTK Healthcare & Career Institute

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      114
      Net price
      $6,260
    • Missouri

      Healing Arts Center

      Grad rate
      No freshman cohort
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      113
      Net price
      No freshman cohort
    • New Jersey

      Healthcare Training Institute

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      41.7%
      Enrollment
      48
      Net price
      $10,594
    • Texas

      Institute of Allied Healthcare

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      60
      Net price
      $2,430
    • California

      Marian Health Careers Center-Van Nuys Campus

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      90
      Net price
      $28,791
    • California

      Medical Allied Career Center

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      48
      Net price
      $34,458
    • Kentucky

      Medical Career & Technical College

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      95.7%
      Enrollment
      235
      Net price
      $28,005
    • California

      North-West College-Glendale

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      100.0%
      Enrollment
      71
      Net price
      $35,763
    • Virginia

      Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage

      Grad rate
      No freshman cohort
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      101
      Net price
      $18,490
    • Michigan

      Ross Medical Education Center-Battle Creek

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      50
      Net price
      $20,440
    • Kentucky

      Ross Medical Education Center-Bowling Green

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      57
      Net price
      $20,062
    • West Virginia

      Ross Medical Education Center-Charleston

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      65
      Net price
      $17,821
    • Ohio

      Ross Medical Education Center-Elyria

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      74
      Net price
      $18,823
    • Kentucky

      Ross Medical Education Center-Erlanger

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      77
      Net price
      $19,448
    • Indiana

      Ross Medical Education Center-Evansville

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      91
      Net price
      $19,540
    • Indiana

      Ross Medical Education Center-Kokomo

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      75
      Net price
      $19,729
    • Indiana

      Ross Medical Education Center-Muncie

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      63
      Net price
      $19,286
    • Ohio

      Ross Medical Education Center-Niles

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      99
      Net price
      $17,822
    • Michigan

      Ross Medical Education Center-Saginaw

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      84
      Net price
      $18,831
    • Michigan

      Ross Medical Education Center-Taylor

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      75
      Net price
      $19,987
    • California

      San Joaquin Valley College-Delano

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      69
      Net price
      $21,573
    • Texas

      Southwest School of Business and Technical Careers-San Antonio

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      21
      Net price
      $22,633
    • Special Focus Two-Year: Health ProfessionsMissouri

      St Louis College of Health Careers-St Louis

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Not reported
      Enrollment
      153
      Net price
      $27,777
    • Louisiana

      Unitech Training Academy-Baton Rouge

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      72
      Net price
      $21,757
    • Louisiana

      Unitech Training Academy-Houma

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      47
      Net price
      $19,506
    • New York

      Westchester School for Medical & Dental Assistants

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      67
      Net price
      $16,177
    • Louisiana

      Williams Technical College

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      28
      Net price
      $15,577
    • Georgia

      Woodruff Medical and Wellness Training

      Grad rate
      —
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      60
      Net price
      $21,621

    Reports & documents (1)

    Dashboards, factbooks, data dictionaries, and other reference material published by the IR office.

    Frequently asked questions about San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork

    Quick answers to the questions most often asked about San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork.

    What is the acceptance rate at San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork?

    San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork has an open admission policy, so it admits all applicants who meet basic requirements (effectively a 100% acceptance rate). Some programs, such as nursing, may have separate selective admission. IPEDS does not collect an admit rate for open-admission colleges.

    What is the graduation rate at San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork?

    San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork does not have a reported federal graduation rate. This institution is too new to have a federal graduation rate: rates follow an entering class for 150% of normal program length, and its first classes have not yet appeared in a published rate.

    How many students attend San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork?

    San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork reports a total enrollment of 139 students per the latest IPEDS.

    What is the average net price at San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork?

    The average net price at San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork is $33,402 per the latest College Scorecard. Net price is the published cost of attendance minus grant aid.

    Where is San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork located?

    San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork is located in San Francisco, California 94103-3416.

    About the data on this page

    Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

    IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
    Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
    College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
    Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
    FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
    Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.
    DAPIP accreditationContinuously refreshed
    Accreditation status for institutions and programs, reported by recognized accrediting agencies.
    Federal Pell Grant & loan volumeAY 2025–26 (through Q3), through March 31, 2026
    Pell Grant and Direct Loan recipient counts, award amounts, and disbursement volume by institution and award year.
    Cohort Default RatesFY 2022 official rates
    Institution-level federal student loan default rates, measuring borrowers who default within three years of entering repayment.
    Equity in Athletics (EADA)Academic year 2024–25
    Athletics participation, coaching, revenues, and expenses by sport and gender for Title IV institutions.
    Campus Safety & SecurityData through reporting year 2024
    Criminal offenses, arrests, disciplinary actions, VAWA offenses, and fire statistics reported by campus under the Clery Act.

    Have a question this page can’t answer?

    Ask Clema anything about San Francisco School of Massage & Bodywork and its peers — plain language in, cited answers out, in minutes instead of days.

    Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card