Best colleges for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Indiana
Ranked by graduate earnings
Indiana University - Indianapolis, Ball State University and Indiana State University are the top bachelor's Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Indiana by graduate earnings. Indiana University - Indianapolis leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $47,755, College Scorecard. Ball State University, Indiana University - Bloomington and Purdue University award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Indiana: 156, 141 and 58 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 31 Indiana colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development and award 2,265 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focused on subject areas, prepares individuals for careers in education by providing essential training and knowledge in various teaching disciplines. This program is…
Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Indiana University - Indianapolis Indianapolis Public · Bachelor's degree | $47,755 | 50 | 54% | — | $26,000 |
| 2 | Ball State University Muncie Public · Bachelor's degree | $46,347 | 156 | 62% | — | $24,998 |
| 3 | Indiana State University Terre Haute Public · Bachelor's degree | $45,862 | 53 | 43% | — | $27,000 |
| 4 | Purdue University West Lafayette Public · Bachelor's degree | $44,923 | 58 | 83% | — | $19,500 |
| 5 | Indiana University - Bloomington Bloomington Public · Bachelor's degree | $40,364 | 141 | 80% | — | $20,500 |
| 6 | University of Indianapolis Indianapolis Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $47,783 | 4 | 56% | $18,930 | $27,000 |
| 7 | Bethel University Mishawaka Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $47,387 | 10 | 53% | $19,676 | — |
| 8 | Valparaiso University Valparaiso Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $46,750 | 3 | 70% | $20,155 | $27,000 |
| 9 | Anderson University Anderson Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $46,637 | 17 | 54% | $21,789 | $29,137 |
| 10 | Taylor University Upland Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $44,028 | 14 | 74% | $20,836 | $21,500 |
Colleges awarding the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Indiana
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ball State University Muncie Public | 156 | $46,347 |
| 2 | Indiana University - Bloomington Bloomington Public | 141 | $40,364 |
| 3 | Purdue University West Lafayette Public | 58 | $44,923 |
| 4 | Indiana State University Terre Haute Public | 53 | $45,862 |
| 5 | Indiana University - Indianapolis Indianapolis Public | 50 | $47,755 |
| 6 | Butler University Indianapolis Private not-for-profit | 18 | Not reported |
| 7 | Anderson University Anderson Private not-for-profit | 17 | $46,637 |
| 8 | Indiana University - South Bend South Bend Public | 17 | $43,058 |
| 9 | Indiana Wesleyan University - Marion Marion Private not-for-profit | 17 | $42,099 |
| 10 | Indiana University - Southeast New Albany Public | 16 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 21 Indiana colleges offering Teacher Education and Professional Development
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| American College of Education (Online) | Indianapolis | Private for-profit | 1,510 |
| Indiana Wesleyan University - National & Global (Online) | Marion | Private not-for-profit | 68 |
| Grace College and Theological Seminary | Winona Lake | Private not-for-profit | 14 |
| Ivy Tech Community College | Indianapolis | Public | 14 |
| Taylor University | Upland | Private not-for-profit | 14 |
| Oakland City University | Oakland City | Private not-for-profit | 12 |
| Purdue University Fort Wayne | Fort Wayne | Public | 11 |
| Bethel University | Mishawaka | Private not-for-profit | 10 |
| Indiana University - Northwest | Gary | Public | 10 |
| Trine University | Angola | Private not-for-profit | 10 |
| Vincennes University | Vincennes | Public | 9 |
| Huntington University | Huntington | Private not-for-profit | 8 |
| DePauw University | Greencastle | Private not-for-profit | 6 |
| Goshen College | Goshen | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
| University of Indianapolis | Indianapolis | Private not-for-profit | 4 |
| Manchester University | North Manchester | Private not-for-profit | 4 |
| Saint Mary's College | Notre Dame | Private not-for-profit | 4 |
| Valparaiso University | Valparaiso | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| University of Evansville | Evansville | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| University of Southern Indiana | Evansville | Public | 2 |
| University of Saint Francis-Fort Wayne | Fort Wayne | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education (SOC 25-2021).
Top skills
What Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Indiana
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Indiana.
Which Indiana colleges award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees?+
Ball State University (156 graduates a year), Indiana University - Bloomington (141 graduates a year) and Purdue University (58 graduates a year) award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Indiana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 31 Indiana colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development.
What is the best college for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Indiana?+
By graduate earnings, Indiana University - Indianapolis leads among bachelor's Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Indiana, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $47,755, College Scorecard. Ball State University and Indiana State University follow. By degrees awarded, Ball State University is the largest, with 156 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Teacher Education and Professional Development program in Indiana has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Indiana University - Indianapolis tops the list at $47,755. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Indiana?+
The average annual wage for Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education in Indiana is $60,850 (median $59,700), across about 27,720 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Teacher Education and Professional Development program?+
The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focused on subject areas, prepares individuals for careers in education by providing essential training and knowledge in various teaching disciplines. This program is…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop learning strategies, speaking, critical thinking, active listening, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education?+
The national job outlook is about -2.0% growth with around 91,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card