Indiana · Psychology

Best colleges for Psychology in Indiana

Ranked by graduate earnings

Trine University, Indiana Institute of Technology and Indiana State University are the top bachelor's Psychology programs in Indiana by graduate earnings. Trine University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $37,096, College Scorecard. Indiana University - Indianapolis, Ball State University and Indiana University - East award the most Psychology degrees in Indiana: 221, 182 and 143 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 40 Indiana colleges offer Psychology and award 2,023 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Psychology program, specifically in General Psychology, explores the complexities of human behavior and mental processes. This program is ideal for students interested in understanding psychological principles and applying them to…

Institutions
40
offering CIP 42.01
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
2,023
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$35,039
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
25
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,442
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
53%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Clinical and Counseling Psychologists
$91,480
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Trine University
Angola Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$37,0962564%$22,269$27,000
2Indiana Institute of Technology
Fort Wayne Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$36,1114448%$20,661$33,611
3Indiana State University
Terre Haute Public · Bachelor's degree
$35,74211243%—$27,000
4Indiana Wesleyan University - Marion
Marion Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$35,0393667%$21,351$24,188
5Marian University
Indianapolis Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$34,6392167%$23,371$26,750
6Indiana University - Indianapolis
Indianapolis Public · Bachelor's degree
$34,43222154%—$22,439
7Indiana University - East
Richmond Public · Bachelor's degree
$33,93814340%—$26,893
8University of Southern Indiana
Evansville Public · Bachelor's degree
$33,8466548%—$20,451
9Indiana University - Southeast
New Albany Public · Bachelor's degree
$33,4385539%—$21,988
10Indiana University - Kokomo
Kokomo Public · Bachelor's degree
$32,8262746%—$23,531

Top certificate or associate program

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Ivy Tech Community College
Indianapolis Public · Associate degree
$26,68833440%—$10,239

Colleges awarding the most Psychology degrees in Indiana

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Indiana University - Indianapolis
Indianapolis Public
221$34,432
2Ball State University
Muncie Public
182$31,305
3Indiana University - East
Richmond Public
143$33,938
4Indiana State University
Terre Haute Public
112$35,742
5University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame Private not-for-profit
96Not reported
6University of Indianapolis
Indianapolis Private not-for-profit
89$32,237
7University of Southern Indiana
Evansville Public
65$33,846
8Butler University
Indianapolis Private not-for-profit
56Not reported
9Indiana University - Southeast
New Albany Public
55$33,438
10Purdue University Northwest
Hammond Public
47$27,436
Show the other 30 Indiana colleges offering Psychology
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Ivy Tech Community CollegeIndianapolisPublic334
Indiana Wesleyan University - National & Global (Online)MarionPrivate not-for-profit82
Indiana University - NorthwestGaryPublic45
Indiana Institute of TechnologyFort WaynePrivate not-for-profit44
Taylor UniversityUplandPrivate not-for-profit43
Indiana Wesleyan University - MarionMarionPrivate not-for-profit36
Indiana University - South BendSouth BendPublic29
Indiana University - KokomoKokomoPublic27
Grace College and Theological SeminaryWinona LakePrivate not-for-profit26
Saint Mary's CollegeNotre DamePrivate not-for-profit26
Trine UniversityAngolaPrivate not-for-profit25
DePauw UniversityGreencastlePrivate not-for-profit24
Valparaiso UniversityValparaisoPrivate not-for-profit23
Marian UniversityIndianapolisPrivate not-for-profit21
University of EvansvilleEvansvillePrivate not-for-profit19
Anderson UniversityAndersonPrivate not-for-profit18
Calumet College of Saint JosephWhitingPrivate not-for-profit17
Indiana Institute of Technology - College of Professional Studies (Online)Fort WaynePrivate not-for-profit17
Franklin CollegeFranklinPrivate not-for-profit15
Huntington UniversityHuntingtonPrivate not-for-profit12
University of Saint Francis-Fort WayneFort WaynePrivate not-for-profit12
Hanover CollegeHanoverPrivate not-for-profit11
Manchester UniversityNorth ManchesterPrivate not-for-profit11
Holy Cross CollegeNotre DamePrivate not-for-profit8
Bethel UniversityMishawakaPrivate not-for-profit7
Goshen CollegeGoshenPrivate not-for-profit7
Saint Mary-of-the-Woods CollegeSaint Mary of the WoodsPrivate not-for-profit7
Trine University - Regional/Non-Traditional Campuses (Online)AngolaPrivate not-for-profit6
Oakland City UniversityOakland CityPrivate not-for-profit3
Martin UniversityIndianapolisPrivate not-for-profit2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Clinical and Counseling Psychologists (SOC 19-3033).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+11.2%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~4,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$95,830
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingActive ListeningWritingSpeakingActive Learning

What Clinical and Counseling Psychologists earn in Indiana

Jobs in Indiana
1,850
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$91,480
median $84,990
Best-paying metro
$97,620
Columbus, IN

Related careers

Clinical and Counseling Psychologists
$91,480 avg · 1,850 jobs
Psychology Teachers, Postsecondary
$88,350 avg · 760 jobs
Social Science Research Assistants
$62,450 avg · 210 jobs
Psychologists, All Other
$117,770 avg · 200 jobs
Industrial-Organizational Psychologists
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Psychology programs in Indiana.

Which Indiana colleges award the most Psychology degrees?+

Indiana University - Indianapolis (221 graduates a year), Ball State University (182 graduates a year) and Indiana University - East (143 graduates a year) award the most Psychology degrees in Indiana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 40 Indiana colleges offer Psychology.

What is the best college for Psychology in Indiana?+

By graduate earnings, Trine University leads among bachelor's Psychology programs in Indiana, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $37,096, College Scorecard. Indiana Institute of Technology and Indiana State University follow. By degrees awarded, Indiana University - Indianapolis is the largest, with 221 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Psychology program in Indiana has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Trine University tops the list at $37,096. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Clinical and Counseling Psychologists earn in Indiana?+

The average annual wage for Clinical and Counseling Psychologists in Indiana is $91,480 (median $84,990), across about 1,850 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Psychology program?+

The Psychology program, specifically in General Psychology, explores the complexities of human behavior and mental processes. This program is ideal for students interested in understanding psychological principles and applying them to…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, active listening, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Clinical and Counseling Psychologists?+

The national job outlook is about +11.2% growth with around 4,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card