Indiana · Design and Applied Arts

Best colleges for Design and Applied Arts in Indiana

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Notre Dame, Purdue University and Ball State University are the top bachelor's Design and Applied Arts programs in Indiana by graduate earnings. University of Notre Dame leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $46,825, College Scorecard. Purdue University, Indiana University - Bloomington and Ball State University award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Indiana: 110, 73 and 50 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 23 Indiana colleges offer Design and Applied Arts and award 626 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Design and Applied Arts program focuses on the intersection of design and practical application, teaching students how to create aesthetically pleasing objects for everyday use. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…

Institutions
23
offering CIP 50.04
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
626
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$31,921
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
8
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,836
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
63%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Graphic Designers
$61,990
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 7 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$46,8252095%$19,452$20,250
2Purdue University
West Lafayette Public · Bachelor's degree
$44,60211083%—$20,250
3Ball State University
Muncie Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,8645062%—$22,000
4Indiana University - Bloomington
Bloomington Public · Bachelor's degree
$26,4217380%—$21,064
5University of Saint Francis-Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$35,439855%$20,012$27,000
6Taylor University
Upland Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$31,9211274%$20,836$22,000
7Purdue University Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$27,5171836%—$27,000

Top certificate or associate program

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Ivy Tech Community College
Indianapolis Public · Associate degree
$26,60226540%—$12,710

Colleges awarding the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Indiana

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Purdue University
West Lafayette Public
110$44,602
2Indiana University - Bloomington
Bloomington Public
73$26,421
3Ball State University
Muncie Public
50$36,864
4University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame Private not-for-profit
20$46,825
5Purdue University Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Public
18$27,517
6Vincennes University
Vincennes Public
14Not reported
7Taylor University
Upland Private not-for-profit
12$31,921
8Huntington University
Huntington Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
9University of Saint Francis-Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Private not-for-profit
8$35,439
10Grace College and Theological Seminary
Winona Lake Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
Show the other 13 Indiana colleges offering Design and Applied Arts
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Ivy Tech Community CollegeIndianapolisPublic265
Indiana University - IndianapolisIndianapolisPublic6
University of IndianapolisIndianapolisPrivate not-for-profit6
Butler UniversityIndianapolisPrivate not-for-profit5
Bethel UniversityMishawakaPrivate not-for-profit4
Indiana Wesleyan University - MarionMarionPrivate not-for-profit4
University of EvansvilleEvansvillePrivate not-for-profit3
Franklin CollegeFranklinPrivate not-for-profit3
Goshen CollegeGoshenPrivate not-for-profit3
Saint Mary-of-the-Woods CollegeSaint Mary of the WoodsPrivate not-for-profit3
Anderson UniversityAndersonPrivate not-for-profit2
DePauw UniversityGreencastlePrivate not-for-profit1
Marian UniversityIndianapolisPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Graphic Designers (SOC 27-1024).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~20,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$61,300
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingCritical ThinkingWritingActive LearningReading Comprehension

What Graphic Designers earn in Indiana

Jobs in Indiana
3,450
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$61,990
median $55,480
Best-paying metro
$67,880
Indianapolis-Carmel-Greenwood, IN

Related careers

Graphic Designers
$61,990 avg · 3,450 jobs
Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary
$87,730 avg · 1,920 jobs
Web and Digital Interface Designers
$76,420 avg · 1,160 jobs
Commercial and Industrial Designers
$88,320 avg · 1,110 jobs
Interior Designers
$65,460 avg · 1,020 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Design and Applied Arts programs in Indiana.

Which Indiana colleges award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees?+

Purdue University (110 graduates a year), Indiana University - Bloomington (73 graduates a year) and Ball State University (50 graduates a year) award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Indiana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 23 Indiana colleges offer Design and Applied Arts.

What is the best college for Design and Applied Arts in Indiana?+

By graduate earnings, University of Notre Dame leads among bachelor's Design and Applied Arts programs in Indiana, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $46,825, College Scorecard. Purdue University and Ball State University follow. By degrees awarded, Purdue University is the largest, with 110 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Design and Applied Arts program in Indiana has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Notre Dame tops the list at $46,825. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Graphic Designers earn in Indiana?+

The average annual wage for Graphic Designers in Indiana is $61,990 (median $55,480), across about 3,450 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Design and Applied Arts program?+

The Design and Applied Arts program focuses on the intersection of design and practical application, teaching students how to create aesthetically pleasing objects for everyday use. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, critical thinking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Graphic Designers?+

The national job outlook is about +2.1% growth with around 20,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card