Best colleges for Electrical in Illinois
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville and Bradley University are the top bachelor's Electrical programs in Illinois by graduate earnings. University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $86,483, College Scorecard. University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Illinois Institute of Technology and University of Illinois Chicago award the most Electrical degrees in Illinois: 484, 129 and 127 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 Illinois colleges offer Electrical and award 988 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering program focuses on the principles and applications of electricity, electronics, and communication systems. This program is designed for students interested in the technological…
Top 7 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Champaign Public · Bachelor's degree | $86,483 | 484 | 85% | — | $21,600 |
| 2 | Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Edwardsville Public · Bachelor's degree | $79,617 | 26 | 57% | — | $25,113 |
| 3 | Bradley University Peoria Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $76,475 | 23 | 76% | $21,768 | $27,000 |
| 4 | Northern Illinois University Dekalb Public · Bachelor's degree | $74,442 | 50 | 49% | — | $25,000 |
| 5 | University of Illinois Chicago Chicago Public · Bachelor's degree | $72,926 | 127 | 62% | — | $23,500 |
| 6 | Illinois Institute of Technology Chicago Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $69,966 | 129 | 75% | $19,899 | $25,500 |
| 7 | Southern Illinois University - Carbondale Carbondale Public · Bachelor's degree | $68,670 | 43 | 62% | — | $19,750 |
Colleges awarding the most Electrical degrees in Illinois
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Champaign Public | 484 | $86,483 |
| 2 | Illinois Institute of Technology Chicago Private not-for-profit | 129 | $69,966 |
| 3 | University of Illinois Chicago Chicago Public | 127 | $72,926 |
| 4 | Northwestern University Evanston Private not-for-profit | 94 | Not reported |
| 5 | Northern Illinois University Dekalb Public | 50 | $74,442 |
| 6 | Southern Illinois University - Carbondale Carbondale Public | 43 | $68,670 |
| 7 | Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Edwardsville Public | 26 | $79,617 |
| 8 | Bradley University Peoria Private not-for-profit | 23 | $76,475 |
| 9 | North Central College Naperville Private not-for-profit | 5 | Not reported |
| 10 | Eastern Illinois University Charleston Public | 4 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 2 Illinois colleges offering Electrical
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Western Illinois University | Macomb | Public | 2 |
| Lewis University | Romeoville | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Electrical Engineers (SOC 17-2071).
Top skills
What Electrical Engineers earn in Illinois
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Electrical programs in Illinois.
Which Illinois colleges award the most Electrical degrees?+
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (484 graduates a year), Illinois Institute of Technology (129 graduates a year) and University of Illinois Chicago (127 graduates a year) award the most Electrical degrees in Illinois, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 Illinois colleges offer Electrical.
What is the best college for Electrical in Illinois?+
By graduate earnings, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign leads among bachelor's Electrical programs in Illinois, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $86,483, College Scorecard. Southern Illinois University Edwardsville and Bradley University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign is the largest, with 484 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Electrical program in Illinois has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign tops the list at $86,483. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Electrical Engineers earn in Illinois?+
The average annual wage for Electrical Engineers in Illinois is $114,640 (median $107,860), across about 5,460 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Electrical program?+
The Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering program focuses on the principles and applications of electricity, electronics, and communication systems. This program is designed for students interested in the technological…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop writing, critical thinking, reading comprehension, active listening, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Electrical Engineers?+
The national job outlook is about +7.2% growth with around 11,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card