Hawaii · Practical Nursing

Best colleges for Practical Nursing in Hawaii

Ranked by graduates a year

Hawaii Medical College and Kauai Community College award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Hawaii: 18 and 14 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 4 Hawaii colleges offer Practical Nursing and award 105 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…

Institutions
4
offering CIP 51.39
States & territories
56
with a program page
Degrees / yr
105
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$35,979
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
46%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Nursing Assistants
$45,710
BLS OEWS May 2025

4 institutions offering Practical Nursing in Hawaii

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Hawaii Maui College
Kahului Public
—4928%——
2Kapiolani Community College
Honolulu Public
—2422%——
3Hawaii Medical College
Honolulu Private for-profit
—1884%$35,979—
4Kauai Community College
Lihue Public
—1448%——

Colleges awarding the most Practical Nursing degrees in Hawaii

Top 2 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Hawaii Medical College
Honolulu Private for-profit
18Not reported
2Kauai Community College
Lihue Public
14Not reported
Show the other 2 Hawaii colleges offering Practical Nursing
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
University of Hawaii Maui CollegeKahuluiPublic49
Kapiolani Community CollegeHonoluluPublic24

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.3%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~204,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$39,530
typically Postsecondary nondegree award

Top skills

Active ListeningMonitoringReading ComprehensionSpeakingCritical ThinkingActive Learning

What Nursing Assistants earn in Hawaii

Jobs in Hawaii
5,050
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$45,710
median $45,350
Best-paying metro
$46,850
Kahului-Wailuku, HI

Related careers

Nursing Assistants
$45,710 avg · 5,050 jobs
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses
$71,560 avg · 840 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Practical Nursing programs in Hawaii.

Which Hawaii colleges award the most Practical Nursing degrees?+

Hawaii Medical College (18 graduates a year) and Kauai Community College (14 graduates a year) award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Hawaii, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 4 Hawaii colleges offer Practical Nursing.

How much do Nursing Assistants earn in Hawaii?+

The average annual wage for Nursing Assistants in Hawaii is $45,710 (median $45,350), across about 5,050 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Practical Nursing program?+

The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, monitoring, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Nursing Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +2.3% growth with around 204,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card