Georgia · Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages

Best colleges for Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages in Georgia

Ranked by graduates a year

Emory University and University of Georgia award the most Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages degrees and certificates in Georgia: 1 and 1 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 2 Georgia colleges offer Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages and award 2 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages program offers an interdisciplinary approach to the study of the history, culture, politics, economies, and geography of the Middle East. This program is ideal for students interested in…

Institutions
2
offering CIP 16.11
States offered
28
with a program page
Degrees / yr
2
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,586
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
90%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Interpreters and Translators
$61,750
BLS OEWS May 2025

2 institutions offering Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages in Georgia

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Emory University
Atlanta Private not-for-profit
—191%$20,586—
2University of Georgia
Athens Public
—190%——

Colleges awarding the most Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages degrees in Georgia

Top 2 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Emory University
Atlanta Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
2University of Georgia
Athens Public
1Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~6,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$59,440
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingMonitoringCritical Thinking

What Interpreters and Translators earn in Georgia

Jobs in Georgia
1,600
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$61,750
median $57,880
Best-paying metro
$70,320
Savannah, GA

Related careers

Interpreters and Translators
$61,750 avg · 1,600 jobs
Foreign Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary
$78,340 avg · 280 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages programs in Georgia.

Which Georgia colleges award the most Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages degrees?+

Emory University (1 graduate a year) and University of Georgia (1 graduate a year) award the most Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages degrees and certificates in Georgia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 2 Georgia colleges offer Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages.

How much do Interpreters and Translators earn in Georgia?+

The average annual wage for Interpreters and Translators in Georgia is $61,750 (median $57,880), across about 1,600 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages program?+

The Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages program offers an interdisciplinary approach to the study of the history, culture, politics, economies, and geography of the Middle East. This program is ideal for students interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Interpreters and Translators?+

The national job outlook is about +1.7% growth with around 6,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages in other statesUtahArizonaArkansasCaliforniaConnecticutDistrict of ColumbiaIdahoIllinois

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card