Florida · Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies

Best colleges for Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies in Florida

Ranked by graduate earnings

Florida State University, University of Miami and University of Florida award the most Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies degrees and certificates in Florida: 293, 153 and 82 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 9 Florida colleges offer Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies and award 725 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary for advanced legal research and analysis. This program is designed for individuals seeking to deepen their understanding…

Institutions
9
offering CIP 22.02
States offered
43
with a program page
Degrees / yr
725
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$74,141
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$25,464
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
64%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Lawyers
$162,060
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Florida State University
Tallahassee Public · Graduate degree
$74,14129386%—$19,500

Colleges awarding the most Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies degrees in Florida

Top 9 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Florida State University
Tallahassee Public
293$74,141
2University of Miami
Coral Gables Private not-for-profit
153Not reported
3University of Florida
Gainesville Public
82Not reported
4Nova Southeastern University
Fort Lauderdale Private not-for-profit
60Not reported
5Florida International University
Miami Public
57Not reported
6St. Thomas University
Miami Gardens Private not-for-profit
52Not reported
7Stetson University
DeLand Private not-for-profit
21Not reported
8Barry University
Miami Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
9Florida Memorial University
Miami Gardens Private not-for-profit
3Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Lawyers (SOC 23-1011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~31,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$151,160
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

SpeakingCritical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingActive Learning

What Lawyers earn in Florida

Jobs in Florida
55,210
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$162,060
median $133,180
Best-paying metro
$173,960
Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL

Related careers

Lawyers
$162,060 avg · 55,210 jobs
Law Teachers, Postsecondary
$131,220 avg · 720 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies programs in Florida.

Which Florida colleges award the most Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies degrees?+

Florida State University (293 graduates a year), University of Miami (153 graduates a year) and University of Florida (82 graduates a year) award the most Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies degrees and certificates in Florida, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 9 Florida colleges offer Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies.

Which Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies program in Florida has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Florida State University tops the list at $74,141. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Lawyers earn in Florida?+

The average annual wage for Lawyers in Florida is $162,060 (median $133,180), across about 55,210 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies program?+

The Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary for advanced legal research and analysis. This program is designed for individuals seeking to deepen their understanding…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Lawyers?+

The national job outlook is about +4.1% growth with around 31,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies in other statesNew YorkPennsylvaniaVirginiaAlabamaArizonaCaliforniaColoradoConnecticut

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card