Colorado · Fine and Studio Arts

Best colleges for Fine and Studio Arts in Colorado

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus, University of Northern Colorado and Colorado State University - Fort Collins are the top bachelor's Fine and Studio Arts programs in Colorado by graduate earnings. University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $31,144, College Scorecard. Colorado State University - Fort Collins, University of Colorado Boulder and University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Colorado: 110, 81 and 76 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 20 Colorado colleges offer Fine and Studio Arts and award 496 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Fine and Studio Arts program focuses on the practice and theory of visual arts and design, encompassing various disciplines such as illustration, painting, sculpture, and graphic design. This program is ideal for students who are…

Institutions
20
offering CIP 50.07
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
496
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$27,136
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
8
College Scorecard
Median net price
$28,500
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
47%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators
$62,950
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 8 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus
Denver Public · Bachelor's degree
$31,1447646%—$25,490
2University of Northern Colorado
Greeley Public · Bachelor's degree
$30,6634451%—$25,000
3Colorado State University - Fort Collins
Fort Collins Public · Bachelor's degree
$30,14311067%—$21,500
4University of Denver
Denver Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$28,9642576%$29,726—
5Metropolitan State University of Denver
Denver Public · Bachelor's degree
$26,1023732%—$31,000
6Fort Lewis College
Durango Public · Bachelor's degree
$22,7542436%—$16,500
7University of Colorado Boulder
Boulder Public · Bachelor's degree
$17,5018174%—$21,500
8Colorado Mesa University
Grand Junction Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$27,1361941%——

Colleges awarding the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Colorado

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Colorado State University - Fort Collins
Fort Collins Public
110$30,143
2University of Colorado Boulder
Boulder Public
81$17,501
3University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus
Denver Public
76$31,144
4University of Northern Colorado
Greeley Public
44$30,663
5Metropolitan State University of Denver
Denver Public
37$26,102
6University of Denver
Denver Private not-for-profit
25$28,964
7Fort Lewis College
Durango Public
24$22,754
8Colorado Mesa University
Grand Junction Public
19$27,136
9Colorado College
Colorado Springs Private not-for-profit
16Not reported
10Front Range Community College
Westminster Public
15Not reported
Show the other 10 Colorado colleges offering Fine and Studio Arts
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Arapahoe Community CollegeLittletonPublic10
Western Colorado UniversityGunnisonPublic10
Rocky Mountain College of Art and DesignLakewoodPrivate for-profit7
Red Rocks Community CollegeLakewoodPublic6
Adams State UniversityAlamosaPublic5
Pikes Peak State CollegeColorado SpringsPublic4
Colorado State University PuebloPuebloPublic3
Regis UniversityDenverPrivate not-for-profit2
Otero CollegeLa JuntaPublic1
Trinidad State CollegeTrinidadPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators (SOC 27-1013).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-1.2%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~2,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$60,560
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive LearningActive ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionWriting

What Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators earn in Colorado

Jobs in Colorado
250
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$62,950
median $51,910
Best-paying metro
$85,020
Denver-Aurora-Centennial, CO

Related careers

Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary
$74,780 avg · 1,950 jobs
Photographers
$58,170 avg · 1,140 jobs
Art Directors
$112,040 avg · 720 jobs
Curators
$76,150 avg · 300 jobs
Museum Technicians and Conservators
$55,840 avg · 290 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Fine and Studio Arts programs in Colorado.

Which Colorado colleges award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees?+

Colorado State University - Fort Collins (110 graduates a year), University of Colorado Boulder (81 graduates a year) and University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus (76 graduates a year) award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Colorado, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 20 Colorado colleges offer Fine and Studio Arts.

What is the best college for Fine and Studio Arts in Colorado?+

By graduate earnings, University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus leads among bachelor's Fine and Studio Arts programs in Colorado, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $31,144, College Scorecard. University of Northern Colorado and Colorado State University - Fort Collins follow. By degrees awarded, Colorado State University - Fort Collins is the largest, with 110 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Fine and Studio Arts program in Colorado has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus tops the list at $31,144. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators earn in Colorado?+

The average annual wage for Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators in Colorado is $62,950 (median $51,910), across about 250 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Fine and Studio Arts program?+

The Fine and Studio Arts program focuses on the practice and theory of visual arts and design, encompassing various disciplines such as illustration, painting, sculpture, and graphic design. This program is ideal for students who are…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active learning, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators?+

The national job outlook is about -1.2% growth with around 2,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card